Valbella
Grisons

Valbella

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

In the sunny, high-lying valley of Lenzerheide-Valbella, our youth hostel has a stunning 5-star view of the mountain panorama and Heidsee lake!

Valbella

Grisons

Summer predominantly attracts hikers and bikers to the valley slopes, but the hiking network, which is also generally usable in winter, provides for special walks with panoramic views in winter, too. At this time of year, our motto is "ski in – ski out!", as this family-friendly hostel is situated right next to the ski lift and has its own ski and bike cellar. Exclusively for night owls and early risers, the holiday region organises snow nights with night skiing and snow groomer rides, and early bird mountain ascents to see the sun rise on the Rothorn. Here you can also take your bike and whiz down one of the five professionally designed courses at the Lenzerheide Bike Park.

  • Valbella Youth Hostel
    Voa Sartons 41
    7077 Valbella
    Switzerland
  • Check-in: 16:00 - 22:00 Clock Check-out: 08:00 - 10:00 Clock
Top

By train:

By postal bus from Chur to the bus stop "Valbella Dorf" in about 30 minutes and then a 20-minute walk to the youth hostel. Junction "Valschameala, Sartons" at the local entrance.

By car:

The youth hostel has a limited number of chargeable car parking spaces, for which advance reservation is recommended.

Barrier-free journey:

From Chur Railway Station take the Postauto to the bus stop "Valbella Dorf". Not all Postautos offer wheelchair access, further information is available under the number +41 58 386 31 66.

From the bus stop "Valbella Dorf" around 1.3km uphill (30 minutes by foot). Swisstrac is recommended, as the route to the Youth Hostel is very steep.

The youth hostel has a chargeable, wheelchair-accessible car parking space, for which advance reservation is essential. Distance: approx. 30m from the main entrance. We will be pleased to make the disabled car parking space available free of charge for holders of an official blue disabled person’s parking permit.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 12.00 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • All prices exclusive of taxes CHF 3.30 (May – Nov) / CHF 2.- (Dec – Apr) per person/night, including VAT.
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15 and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25 per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Car park per night CHF 7.–
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • Details and prices

    Whether for teambuilding, coaching, basic or advanced training – why not use the Valbella Youth Hostel! Situated in the heart of the Grisons mountains, the Valbella Youth Hostel provides the perfect setting for productive thinking!

    The mountains, footpaths and trails start right outside the front door. It also has a seminar room for up to 25 persons.

    Combine the intellectual productivity of your seminar participants with physical counterbalance right outside the front door. Teambuilding indoors and out. The Lenzerheide/Valbella region has everything from extreme sports to a wide range of wellness offerings:

    Activities:

    • LenziBike on the Rothorn
    • Downhill routes and riding skills course for mountain bikers
    • Footpaths, walking trails, trailrunners
    • Summer toboggan run in Churwalden
    • Aerial ropes course
    • Canyoning in the Viamala gorge
    • Relax at the Heidsee lake

    More information

    Accommodation with room rental

    “Summer” member prices per person/night incl. full board and snacks, bed linen and taxes

    • in a 6-bed room with washbasin from CHF 89.50
    • in a 4-bed room with washbasin from CHF 89.50
    • in a 2-bed room with shower/WC from CHF 113.-

    We reserve the right to adjust prices.

    The youth hostel team will be pleased to help you arrange your individual seminar offer. Please send your request to valbella@youthhostel.ch

  • Room Barrier-free beds per room
    2 double rooms with shower/WC barrier-free 2 beds

    All of the public rooms in the Youth Hostel, with the exception of the seminar room (3 steps), can be reached with ease by wheelchair. While the exit to the sun terrace has a high sill (14 cm), this can be reached barrier-free by wheelchairs via the main entrance.

    The Youth Hostel has a wheelchair-compliant elevator which links the various storeys.

    • The width of the corridor in front of the elevator is 200 cm
    • The width of the elevator door is 89 cm
    • Elevator width: 120 cm
    • Elevator depth: 145 cm

    The room door width is 80 cm.

    Barrier-free wet cell

    A barrier-free toilet is located on the ground floor. Two double rooms feature fully barrier-free en-suite bathrooms.

    The wet cell dimensions are:

    • Width of wet cell door: 80 cm
    • WC seat height: 47 cm
    • The washbasin is wheelchair accessible: 80 cm
    • Shower seat
    • Shower handle

    Barrier-free journey

    By train / by foot

    From Chur Railway Station take the Postauto to the bus stop "Valbella Dorf". Not all Postautos offer wheelchair access, further information is available under the number +41 58 386 31 66. From the bus stop "Valbella Dorf" around 1.3km uphill (20 minutes by foot). Swisstrac is recommended, as the route to the Youth Hostel is very steep.

    By car

    The youth hostel has a chargeable, wheelchair-accessible car parking space, for which advance reservation is essential. Distance: approx. 30m from the main entrance. We will be pleased to make the disabled car parking space available free of charge for holders of an official blue disabled person’s parking permit.

    Useful information

    Links for public transport

    Taxi

    • Taxi Chur, Phone: +41 79 681 56 00
    • Taxi Rosamilia, Phone: +41 81 252 15 22
    • RS Taxi (only in winter), +41 79 127 11 11
    • Fortuna, +41 79 636 50 12

    Closest pharmacy

    approx. 5km

    • Pill Apotheke
      Voa Principala, 7078 Lenzerheide
      Phone: +41 81 384 12 44

    Offers

  • Alpine architecture

    Alpine architecture 1932 saw the opening of the Valbella Youth Hostel – the first purpose-built youth hostel in Switzerland. The work of Chur architect J. Keller, it featured a contemporary design. Walls faced with rough stone typified the whole simple, almost archaic construction. In fact, the hostel was built partly with volunteer labour. The result was a modern, yet specifically Alpine, architecture comparable with buildings of that period by Rudolf Gaberel and, especially, Hans Leuzinger.

    Even in those days, two windows above a corner seat in the dayroom perfectly framed the magnificent view down into the valley. In 1943, the first addition, at the front of the building, made more of this feature and opened out the view from the ground floor. In 1972, a second, much larger annex opened, adding a new set of rooms at right angles to the original building. A hipped roof combined the two parts into a compact whole.

    Old and new in one hostel

    By 2006, refurbishment was again unavoidable. The standard no longer
    met contemporary expectations of a youth hostel. After thorough examination of a range of options, the Chur-based architectural practice of Bosch & Heim came up with a surprise. Their proposal was actually to keep the dull architecture of the 1970s wing, still prefectly usable, but to demolish and replace the rest. This retained the building’s exceptionally attractive position and highlighted the best of its original qualities. The oldest parts of the building, whose simple fabric would have been incompatible with modern demands without radical alteration, were demolished. A new, longer and taller wing then rose on the same spot, recreating a tower-like aspect. This adapted the entire scale of the building to the different, perhaps less diffuse background culture of the present day. This serves to re-emphasise the hostel’s special significance as a semi-public building. Most important, the hostel has a «head» again which, like the 1932 building, looks down into the valley below.

    The success of this rebuilding lies not in juxtaposing old and new, but in merging them into a unity. The two-tone grey render seems at first at odds with this concept, apparently juxtaposing old and new on the approach side. However, the shades are very similar. Only close scrutiny reveals that the difference is not purely attributable to the changing angle of incidence of the light.

    Committed to modernity

    The entire building stands out for its economy, not only in the financial
    resources invested in it, but above all in the few, yet ingenious architectural features employed. This economy connects it with its first predecessor, whose character lives on, although none of its fabric survives and there is no explicit allusion to its formal elements. And it aligns the new building with traditional Alpine architecture, whose rationality, functionality and sensitivity to location were already admired in those early days of modern architecture. The converted and re-built facility is the first in the Swiss Youth Hostel network to be constructed in accordance with the Minergie-Eco building standard.

Current specials

Your benefits in the area

  • Mountain railway ticket at a special price
  • Especially for members: 15% discount on hire of winter sports equipment in all INTERSPORT Rent branches
  • Especially for members: discount at H2Lai (indoor swimming pool)

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Valbella
Graubünden

Valbella

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Im sonnigen Hochtal Lenzerheide-Valbella trumpft unsere Jugendherberge mit einer 5-Sterne Aussicht auf das Bergpanorama und den Heidsee auf!

Valbella

Graubünden

Während des Sommers sieht man vor allem Wanderer und Biker die Talhänge durchstreifen, doch macht das mehrheitlich wintertaugliche Wanderwegnetz auch im Winter einen Panoramaspaziergang zum besonderen Erlebnis. In dieser Jahreszeit heisst es bei uns sowieso «Ski in – Ski out!», denn das familienfreundliche Hostel liegt direkt am Skilift und verfügt über einen Ski- und Bikekeller. Exklusiv für Frühaufsteher und Nachtschwärmer organisiert die Ferienregion jeweils Snow Nights mit Nacht-Skifahren und Pistenbullifahrten sowie Early Bird Bergfahrten zum Sonnenaufgang auf dem Rothorn. Dort flitzen Sie übrigens auch mit dem Mountainbike durch die 5 professionell angelegten Strecken des Lenzerheide Bikeparks.

  • Jugendherberge Valbella
    Voa Sartons 41
    7077 Valbella-Lenzerheide
    Schweiz
  • Check-in: 16:00 - 22:00 Uhr Check-out: 08:00 - 10:00 Uhr
Top

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Von Chur mit dem Postauto in einer halben Stunde bis zur Haltestelle "Valbella Dorf", von dort zu Fuss in 20 Minuten zur Jugendherberge. Abzweigung "Valschameala, Sartons" am Ortseingang.

Mit dem Auto:

Die Jugendherberge verfügt über eine limitierte Anzahl gebührenpflichtiger Parkplätze, wir empfehlen Ihnen, im Voraus zu reservieren.

Hindernisfrei anreisen: 

Vom Bahnhof Chur mit dem Postauto bis zur Haltestelle "Valbella Dorf" fahren. Nicht alle Postautos sind rollstuhlgängig, Informationen erhält man unter der Nummer +41 58 386 31 66.

Von der Haltestelle "Valbella Dorf" rund 1.3km bergaufwärts (30 Fussminuten). Swisstrac wird empfohlen, da der Weg zur Jugendherberge sehr steil ist.

Die Jugendherberge verfügt über einen gebührenpflichtigen, rollstuhlgerechten Parkplatz ca. 20m vom Haupteingang entfernt. Wir bitten Sie, unbedingt im Voraus zu reservieren.

Für Menschen mit Behinderungen, welche die offizielle blaue Parkkarte besitzen, stellen wir den Behindertenparkplatz gerne kostenlos zur Verfügung.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen 12.00 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 12.00 CHF
    • Alle Preise exklusive Kurtaxen CHF 3.30 (Mai – Nov) / CHF 2.- (Dez – Apr) pro Person/Nacht, inklusive MwSt.
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–.
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise.
    • Parkplatz pro Übernachtung CHF 7.00.–
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Details und Preise

    Egal ob Teambuilding, Coaching, Weiterbildung oder Schulung – warum nicht in der Jugendherberge Valbella! Inmitten der Bündner Bergwelt gelegen, bietet die Jugendherberge Valbella die optimale Grundlage für produktives Denken!

    Die Berge, Wanderwege und Trails befinden sich direkt vor der Haustüre. Ein Seminarraum für max. 25 Personen steht zur Verfügung.

    Unterkunft inklusive Raummiete

    Mitgliederpreise „Sommer“ pro Person/Nacht inkl. Vollpension und Zwischenverpflegung, Bettwäsche und Taxen

    • im 6-Bett Zimmer mit Lavabo ab CHF 89.50
    • im 4-Bett Zimmer mit Lavabo ab CHF 89.50
    • im 2-Bett Zimmer mit Dusche/WC ab CHF 113.-

    Preisänderungen vorbehalten.

    Das Team der Jugendherberge hilft Ihnen gerne beim Zusammenstellen Ihres individuellen Seminarangebotes. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Anfrage an: valbella@youthhostel.ch

  • Zimmer Hindernisfreie Betten pro Zimmer
    2 Doppelzimmer mit Dusche/WC hindernisfrei 2 Betten

    Alle öffentlichen Räume der Jugendherberge, ausgenommen der Seminarraum (3 Stufen), sind mit dem Rollstuhl bequem erreichbar. Der Ausgang zur Sonnenterrasse verfügt über eine Schwelle von 14 cm, ist jedoch auch hindernisfrei aussen rum, via Haupteingang, mit dem Rollstuhl erreichbar.

    Die Jugendherberge verfügt über einen rollstuhlgängigen Lift welcher die verschiedenen Stockwerke verbindet.

    • Flurbreite vor dem Lift: 200 cm
    • Türbreite Lift: 89 cm
    • Liftbreite: 120 cm
    • Lifttiefe: 145 cm

    Die Türbreite der Zimmer beträgt 80 cm.

    Hindernisfreie Nasszellen

    Eine hindernisfreie Toilette befindet sich im Erdgeschoss. Zwei Doppelzimmer verfügen über eine vollumfänglich hindernisfrei ausgestattete Nasszelle.

    Die Masse der Nasszellen betragen:

    • Türbreite zur Nasszelle: 80 cm
    • WC-Sitzhöhe: 47 cm
    • Waschbecken unterfahrbar: 80 cm
    • Duschsitz vorhanden
    • Haltegriffe vorhanden

    Hindernisfreie Anreise

    Mit dem Zug / zu Fuss

    Vom Bahnhof Chur mit dem Postauto bis zur Haltestelle "Valbella Dorf" fahren. Nicht alle Postautos sind rollstuhlgängig, Informationen erhält man unter der Nummer +41 58 386 31 66. Von der Haltestelle "Valbella Dorf" rund 1.3km bergaufwärts (20 Fussminuten). Swisstrac wird empfohlen, da der Weg zur Jugendherberge sehr steil ist.

    Mit dem Auto

    Die Jugendherberge verfügt über einen gebührenpflichtigen, rollstuhlgerechten Parkplatz ca. 20m vom Haupteingang. Wir bitten Sie unbedingt, im Voraus zu reservieren. Für Menschen mit Behinderungen, welche die offizielle blaue Parkkarte besitzen, stellen wir den Behindertenparkplatz gerne kostenlos zur Verfügung.

    Nützliche Informationen

    Links für öffentlichen Verkehr

    Taxi

    • Taxi Chur, Tel: +41 79 681 56 00
    • Taxi Rosamilia, Tel: +41 81 252 15 22
    • RS Taxi (nur Winter), +41 79 127 11 11
    • Fortuna, +41 79 636 50 12
       

    Nächstgelegene Apotheke

    ca. 5km

    • Pill Apotheke
      Voa Principala, 7078 Lenzerheide
      Tel: +41 81 384 12 44

    Angebote

  • Alpine Architektur

    Alpine Architektur 1932 wurde die Jugendherberge Valbella eröffnet, als erstes zu diesem Zweck errichtetes Gebäude in der Schweiz. Entworfen wurde sie vom Churer Architekten J. Keller im Baustil der damaligen Zeit. Grobe Sichtsteinmauern liessen eine einfache, geradezu archaische Bauweise erkennen, was dem Umstand Rechnung trug, dass teilweise in Fronarbeit gebaut wurde. Vergleichbar mit zeitgenössischen Bauten von Rudolf Gaberel und mehr noch solchen Hans Leuzingers entstand so eine moderne und gleichzeitig spezifisch alpine Architektur.

    Schon damals setzten im Aufenthaltsraum zwei Fenster über einer Eckbank die grossartige Sicht ins Tal in Szene, was 1943 bei der ersten Erweiterung um einen Vorbau im Erdgeschoss aufgenommen und ausgebaut wurde. 1972 wurde ein zweiter, wesentlich grösserer Anbau eröffnet, der sich mit einem neuen Zimmertrakt im rechten Winkel zum ursprünglichen Baukörper anschloss und beide Teile über ein Walmdach zu einem kompakten Konglomerat verband.

    Neue, alte Jugendherberge

    Als 2006 wieder eine Erneuerung unumgänglich wurde, weil der Standard
    die heutigen Ansprüche an eine Jugendherberge nicht mehr erfüllte, schlugen die in Chur tätigen Architekten Bosch & Heim nach eingehender Prüfung unterschiedlicher Varianten vor, ausgerechnet den architektonisch
    nicht besonders wertvollen, allerdings durchaus brauchbaren Trakt aus den 1970er Jahren zu erhalten, die anderen Teile jedoch abzubrechen und zu ersetzen. Diese überraschende Variante erlaubte insbesondere, die ausserordentlich schöne Lage des Baus zu erhalten und dessen ursprüngliche Qualitäten erneut hervorzuheben. Der Abbruch des ersten Baus, dessen einfache Substanz den heutigen Ansprüchen ohne erhebliche Eingriffe ohnehin nicht mehr genügt hätte, ermöglichte es, an alter Stelle durch einen neuen, verlängerten und erhöhten Trakt erneut ein turmartiges Gebäude zu schaffen. Damit wurde der gesamte Massstab des Baus der inzwischen veränderten, gleichsam verdichteten Kulturlandschaft angepasst, sodass seine besondere Bedeutung als halböffentliches Gebäude wieder zum Ausdruck kommt. Vor allem aber erhielt die Anlage einen Kopf, der sie, ähnlich dem Ursprungsbau, wieder eindeutig zur Aussicht hin orientiert.

    Entscheidend für den Erfolg dieser Aktion ist, dass Alt und Neu zu einer neuen Einheit verschmelzen. Die zwei Grautöne des Putzes scheinen dieser Betrachtungsweise zunächst zu widersprechen, indem sie auf der Zugangsseite zwischen Alt und Neu zu unterscheiden scheinen. Allerdings sind die Farben so ähnlich, dass man schon genau hinschauen muss, um zu sehen, dass nicht nur verschieden auftreffendes Licht die Differenz ausmacht.

    Der Moderne verpflichtet

    Am ganzen Bau beeindruckt die Ökonomie, die sich einerseits auf die finanzielle Aufwendung, andererseits aber vor allem auf die wenigen, klug eingesetzten architektonischen Mittel bezieht. Auch dies verbindet ihn mit seinem ersten Vorgänger, dessen Charakter weiterlebt, obwohl von ihm weder Substanz erhalten blieb, noch formale Elemente hervorgehoben wurden. Und es verbindet ihn mit der traditionellen alpinen Architektur, deren Rationalität, Zweckmässigkeit und Sensibilität gegenüber dem Ort schon in der Moderne bewundert wurden. Die um- und neugebaute Jugendherberge ist die Erste im Netzwerk der Schweizer Jugendherbergen, die in der Minergie-Eco-Bauweise erstellt wurde.

Aktuelle Specials

Ihre Vorteile vor Ort

  • Bergbahnticket zu Sonderkonditionen
  • Speziell für Mitglieder: 15% Rabatt auf die Miete Ihrer Wintersport-Ausrüstung in allen INTERSPORT Rent Filialen
  • Speziell für Mitglieder: Vergünstigung im H2Lai (Hallenbad)

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen