Richterswil
Zurich

Richterswil

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

You're sure to feel at home on the Richterswil Horn, a peninsula on Lake Zurich! It accommodates our youth hostel, with a large park and direct access to the lake.

Richterswil

Zurich

The grand house, formerly a silk factory, offers its guests comfortable rooms with a view of the lake, seminar and meeting rooms, and a charming terrace. The green-blue waters of Lake Zurich are the jewel in the crown for any event or active sports holiday. There are also numerous attractions in the surrounding area, such as the ruins of Old Wädenswil Castle, marked by the turmoil of the Reformation, or the impressive Einsiedeln Abbey, a place of pilgrimage. Especially the "Gottfried-Keller-Plätzli" in Burghalden and the lakeside path offer beautiful views of the islands of Ufenau, Lützelau and Schönenwirt, and of the foothills of the Glarus and Appenzell Alps.

  • Richterswil Youth Hostel
    Horn
    Hornstrasse 5
    8805 Richterswil
    Switzerland
Classic

By train:

Take suburban railway (S-Bahn) No. 2 or 8 from Zurich to Richterswil (every 30 minutes). From Richterswil station/boat landing stage it’s a three-minute walk along the lakeside path to the youth hostel.

From Zurich airport, it’s 41 minutes on suburban railway No. 2 to Richterswil (direct train connection).

By car:

Take the Richterswil motorway exit and drive to the village. Turn left at Seestrasse and straight ahead until you see the signpost “Horn”/Jugendherberge. The youth hostel has a limited number of chargeable car parking spaces.

Barrier-free journey:

(from Richterswil Railway Station approx. 400m)

From Richterswil Railway Station continue along the lake for approx. 400m, in a north-westerly direction. At the yacht harbour turn right along to follow the edge of the lake. After about 50m you will find the Youth Hostel on the left-hand side. Access to the building is provided by the ramp that leads to the terrace to the side of the main entrance.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF

    Beizli am See

    In the popular "Beizli am See" we pamper our guests à la carte and on the shores of Lake Zurich.

    • All prices exclusive of taxes CHF 2.50 per person/night, including VAT.
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15 and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25 per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Car park per night CHF 7.–
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • Barrier-free stay

    The garden terrace is paved in composite stone, while the garden seating area consists of gravel. The internet terminals are seat terminals and wheelchair-friendly.

    Barrier-free accommodation

    27 of the rooms of Richterswil Youth Hostel offer barrier-free access, and 55 beds are disability-friendly.

    Room Barrier-free beds per room
    15 rooms with two beds 2 beds
    11 rooms with four beds 2 beds
    1 room with six beds 3 beds

    The ground floor, the garden terrace and the garden seating area are raised slightly relative to the road. Entrance to the building is effected via a ramp with a 4 % incline leading to the garden terrace, enabling the difference in elevation to be overcome with ease.

    The building has a generously sized lift linking the floors.

    • The width of the corridor in front of the elevator is 180 cm
    • The width of the elevator door is 80 cm
    • Elevator width: 100 cm
    • Elevator depth: 130 cm

    The width of the doors to the rooms is 77cm.

    Barrier-free wet cell

    A wheelchair-friendly WC with Closomet as well as a wheelchair-friendly shower is provided on both storeys.

    Barrier-free journey

    By train / by foot

    From Richterswil Railway Station approx. 400m

    From Zurich on S-Bahn train No. 2 or 8 to Richterswil (every 30 mins.). From Zurich Airport on S-Bahn train No. 2 to Richterswil in 50 mins. (direct train). From Richterswil Railway Station continue along the lake for approx. 400m, in a north-westerly direction. At the yacht harbour turn right along to follow the edge of the lake. After about 50m you will find the Youth Hostel on the left-hand side.

    By car

    From the motorway exit Richterswil, drive towards the village. On the Seestrasse turn left and keep straight on until you come to the sign “Horn/Jugendherberge”. The youth hostel has only normal, chargeable parking spaces. Please ensure you make an advance reservation. We will be pleased to make the disabled car parking space available free of charge for holders of the official blue disabled person’s parking permit.

    Useful information

    Links for public transport

    Taxi

    • LZU Behindertentransport
      Phone +41 44 781 49 49

    Closest pharmacy

    approx. 400m, at the Railway station

    • Paracelsus-Apotheke Richterswil
      Chrüzweg 4
      8805 Richterswil
      Phone: +41 44 784 60 60

    Offers

  • Industry with a lakeside view

    In many places in Switzerland, the dependence on water energy and the still comparatively low prices of building land have resulted in the paradox that some of the first factories were erected in prime locations that not many of those working inside could possibly have afforded for their own homes. The flat estuaries of rivers or streams into the lakes made it easier to build business premises and provided space for subsequent extensions.

    Wine, silk and rubber

    In 1841, wine merchant Johann Jakob Blattmann had a feudal mansion built in the classical style together with an adjoining winery on the Richterswil Horn.

    His early death in 1848 forced his surviving descendants to sell the property just a few years later. The successful bidder, Johann Konrad Egli from Küs-nacht, installed looms for the production silk in the cellars. With a working day of twelve hours at that time, the poorly-illuminated cellar wing was unsuitable for long-term use however. In 1855, Johann Konrad Egli had a new building constructed in its place which due to its roof shape, similar proportions and classical exterior identical to the residential building gave the unmistakable impression of a set of buildings that belonged together.

    In the second half of the 19th century, the Swiss silk industry increasingly gathered momentum. At that time, the Egli silk factory employed more than 80 factory workers and up to 500 employees working at home. Nevertheless, its success was short-lived. With Johann Konrad Egli’s death in 1862, his successors lacked the financial resources to continue the business.

    The subsequent companies were unable to escape this destiny either. From 1868, the subsequent “Mechanische Seidenstofffärberei Zürich” silk dyeing works rented the premises, followed from 1900 by the Wädenswiler Seidenstoffweberei Gessner silk weaving factory. Silk production finally came to an end during the interwar depression. For two years the premises housed the neighbouring calico printing works. This was followed from1929 by the production of rubberised cloth. It was only in 1976, with the acquisition of the tongue of land by the Canton of Zurich for recreational purposes that peace at last seemed to come to the Horn area.

    It was all worth it in the end...

    On completion of the purchase, the Canton immediately had a usage concept drawn up for the area. In addition to residential accommodation, a boat shed, restaurant and multi-story car park, it also provided for a youth hostel. Sadly the all too numerous interests and the unresolved financing of the area prevented a quick realisation. When ten years later, with the demolition of the factory building that had been envisaged for the youth hostel, the idea of a youth hostel at the Horn seemed buried forever. Almost at the last moment, the youth hostel once again became a political issue. At the end of 1988, the canton unanimously approved the building finance and the youth hostel opened its doors on 04 July 1992.

Current specials

Member benefits in the area

  • 10% discount on pedalo hire (from May to October)
  • 15% discount on admission to the Alpamare water park

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Richterswil
Zürich

Richterswil

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Am Richterswiler Horn, einer Halbinsel am Zürichsee, werden Sie sich wohlfühlen! Dort steht unsere Herberge mit grossem Park und direktem Seeanstoss.

Richterswil

Zürich

Das herrschaftliche Haus einer ehemaligen Seidenfabrik hält bequeme Zimmer mit Seeblick, Schul- und Sitzungszimmer und eine charmante Terrasse für seine Gäste bereit. Diverse Anlässe oder aktive Sportferien holen sich hier am grün-blauen Zürichsee die «Krönung». Auch im Umland finden sich zahlreiche Ausflugsmöglichkeiten, beispielsweise die Ruine Alt-Wädenswil, geprägt von den Wirren der Reformationszeit, oder die beeindruckende Klosterkirche des Wallfahrtsortes Einsiedeln. Schöne Aussichten auf die Inseln Ufenau, Lützelau und Schönenwirt und auf die Ausläufer der Glarner- und Appenzelleralpen ergeben sich vor allem auf dem «Gottfried-Keller-Plätzli» in Burghalden oder auf dem Uferweg.

  • Jugendherberge Richterswil
    Hornstrasse 5
    8805 Richterswil
    Schweiz
Classic

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Ab Zürich mit der S-Bahn Nr. 2 oder 8 bis Richterswil (alle 30 Minuten). Vom Bahnhof/ Schiffstation Richterswil dem Seeweg entlang in drei Minuten zu Fuss zur Jugendherberge.

Vom Flughafen Zürich mit der S-Bahn Nr. 2 in 41 Minuten in Richterswil (direkte Zugverbindung).

Mit dem Auto:

Ab Autobahnausfahrt Richterswil ins Dorf. An der Seestrasse nach links abbiegen und geradeaus bis zum Wegweiser «Horn»/Jugendherberge. Die Jugendherberge verfügt über eine limitierte Anzahl gebührenpflichtiger Parkplätze.

Hindernisfrei anreisen: 

Vom Bahnhof Richterswil dem See entlang, ca. 400m, in nord-westlicher Richtung. Beim Freizeit-Hafen rechts dem See folgen. Nach rund 50m befindet sich die Jugendherberge auf der linken Seite. Zugang zum Haus erhält man über die Rampe, welche links vom Haupteingang zur Terrasse führt.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF

    Beizli am See

    Im beliebten Beizli am See verwöhnen wir unsere Gäste à la carte und am Ufer des Zürichsees.

    • Alle Preise exklusive Kurtaxen CHF 2.50 pro Person/Nacht, inklusive MwSt.
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Parkplatz pro Übernachtung CHF 7.—
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Hindernisfreier Aufenthalt

    Die Gartenterrasse besteht aus einem Belag aus Verbundsteinen, der Gartensitzplatz aus einem Kiesbelag. Die Internet-Terminals sind Sitzterminals und rollstuhlgerecht.

    Hindernisfreie Unterkunft

    27 Zimmer der Jugendherberge Richterswil sind hindernisfrei zugänglich und 55 Betten behindertengerecht.

    Zimmer Hindernisfreie Betten pro Zimmer
    15 2-Bett Zimmer 2 Betten
    11 4-Bett Zimmer 2 Betten
    1 6-Bett Zimmer 3 Betten

     

    Das Erdgeschoss, die Gartenterrasse und der Gartensitzplatz sind gegenüber der Strasse leicht erhöht. Eingang zum Haus erhält man über eine Rampe mit einer Steigung von 4% zur Gartenterrasse, über welche sich der Niveaunterschied bequem überwinden lässt.

    Das Gebäude besitzt einen grosszügigen Lift, welcher die Stockwerke miteinander verbindet.

    • Flurbreite vor dem Lift: 180 cm
    • Türbreite Lift: 80 cm
    • Liftbreite: 100 cm
    • Lifttiefe: 130 cm

    Die Türbereite der Zimmer beträgt 77 cm.

    Hindernisfreie Nasszelle

    Auf beiden Etagen befindet sich je eine rollstuhlgängige Toilette mit Closomat, sowie je eine rollstuhlgängige Dusche.

    Hindernisfreie Anreise

    Mit dem Zug / zu Fuss

    Vom Bahnhof Richterswil ca. 400m

    Ab Zürich mit der S-Bahn Nr. 2 oder 8 bis Richterswil (alle 30 Min.). Vom Flughafen Zürich mit der S-Bahn Nr. 2 in 50 Min. in Richterswil (direkte Zugverbindung). Vom Bahnhof Richterswil den See entlang, ca. 400m, in nord-westliche Richtung. Beim Freizeit-Hafen rechts dem See folgen. Nach rund 50m befindet sich die Jugendherberge auf der linken Seite.

    Mit dem Auto

    Ab Autobahnausfahrt Richterswil ins Dorf. An der Seestrasse nach links abbiegen und geradeaus bis zum Wegweiser Horn/Jugendherberge. Die Jugendherberge verfügt nur über reguläre, gebührenpflichtige Parkplätze. Wir bitten Sie, unbedingt im Voraus zu reservieren. Für Menschen mit Behinderungen, welche die offizielle blaue Parkkarte besitzen, stellen wir den Parkplatz gerne kostenlos zur Verfügung.

    Nützliche Informationen

    Links für öffentlichen Verkehr

    Taxi

    • LZU Behindertentransport
      Tel: +41 44 781 49 49

    Nächstgelegene Apotheke

    ca. 400m, beim Bahnhof

    • Paracelsus-Apotheke Richterswil
      Chrüzweg 4
      8805 Richterswil
      Tel: +41 44 784 60 60

    Angebote

  • Industrie mit Seeblick

    Die Abhängigkeit von der Wasserenergie und der noch geringe Kaufdruck auf die Bodenpreise haben vielerorts in der Schweiz das Paradoxon entstehen lassen, dass manche der ersten Fabrikanlagen an solch erstklassigen Standorten errichtet wurden, wie sie nur die wenigsten der darin Arbeitenden je zu Wohnzwecken selbst genossen haben. Die flachen Mündungsgebiete von Flüssen oder Bächen in die Seen erleichterten es, wirtschaftliche Anlagen zu erstellen und wiesen zudem Raum für spätere Erweiterungen auf.

    Wein, Seide und Gummi

    1841 liess der Weinhändler Johann Jakob Blattmann auf dem Richterswiler Horn ein feudales Wohngebäude in klassizistischem Stil samt einer angrenzenden Kellerei errichten.

    Sein früher Tod 1848 zwang die Hinterbliebenen, die Gebäulichkeiten bereits nach wenigen Jahren wieder zu veräussern. Der aus Küsnacht stammende Johann Konrad Egli errang den Zuschlag und richtete in den Kellereiräumlichkeiten Webstühle zur Fabrikation von Seide ein. Bei einer Arbeitszeit von damals täglich zwölf Stunden genügte der schlecht belichtete Kellereitrakt auf lange Sicht jedoch nicht. Johann Konrad Egli liess 1855 an dessen Stelle einen Neubau errichten, welcher aufgrund der Dachform, der ähnlichen Proportionen und dem identischen klassizistischen Äussern mit dem Wohngebäude ein unmissverständliches Gebäudeensemble entstehen liess.

    In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts kam das Seidengewerbe in der Schweiz zunehmend in Schwung. Über 80 Fabrikarbeiter und bis zu 500 Heimwerker
    arbeiteten damals für die Seidenfabrik Egli. Trotzdem sollte der Erfolg nicht lange anhalten. Mit Johann Konrad Eglis Tod 1862 fehlten den Nachfolgern die finanziellen Mittel, um das Unternehmen weiterzuführen.

    Auch die darauf folgenden Firmen entgingen diesem Schicksal nicht. Ab 1868 mietete sich die spätere «Mechanische Seidenstofffärberei Zürich» in die Gebäulichkeiten ein und ab 1900 folgte die Wädenswiler Seidenstoffweberei Gessner nach. In der Krisenzeit der Zwischenkriegsjahre trat schliesslich das Ende der Seidenproduktion ein. Während zweier Jahre beherbergte das Areal die benachbarte Kattun-Druckerei. Ab 1929 folgte die Produktion gummierter Gewebe. Erst als 1976 der Kanton Zürich die Landzunge erwarb, um sie der Naherholung zuzuführen, schien das Hornareal endlich zur Ruhe zu kommen.

    Was lange dauert...

    Gleich nach dem Erwerb liess der Kanton über das Areal ein Nutzungskonzept erstellen, welches nebst Wohnungen, Bootshalle, Restaurant und Parkhaus bereits eine Jugendherberge vorsah. Die allzu zahlreichen Interessen und die ungeklärte Finanzierung des Areals verhinderte jedoch eine rasche Realisierung. Als zehn Jahre später das damals für die Jugendherberge vorgesehene Fabrikgebäude abgerissen wurde, schien die Jugendherberge am Horn endgültig begraben. Sozusagen in letzter Sekunde wurde die Jugendherberge von politischer Seite nochmals thematisiert. Ende 1988 genehmigte der Kanton einstimmig den Baukredit und am 4. Juli 1992 wurde die Jugendherberge in Betrieb genommen.

Aktuelle Specials

Mitgliedervorteile vor Ort

  • 10 % Rabatt auf die Pedalomiete (von Mai-Oktober)
  • 15 % Ermässigung auf den Alpamare-Eintritt

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen