Mariastein
Solothurn

Mariastein

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

Conquer the impressive hill castle of the lords and knights of Rotberg! Your reward: winding staircases, a room in a tower and an amazing view.

Outside view Mariastein Youth Hostel stone castle

Mariastein

Solothurn

Just like 500 years ago: climb 150 steps between tall trees and you'll reach the steep ridge of the Blauen mountain before heading through a gate into the castle courtyard. Behind walls that are metres thick, you can dine in the knights' hall, which has an open fire, and sleep as the nobles once did, in a bedroom behind a massive wooden door. From the battlements you can see Mariastein nearby, a place of pilgrimage, and enjoy a view across the green hills and forests towards Basel. What's more, you can watch particularly impressive sunsets here. If you'd like to add a few more knightly experiences to your stay, a trip to the ruins of Landskron Castle or a castle hiking tour through the Leimen valley are highly recommended.

  • Mariastein Youth Hostel
    Burg Rotberg
    4115 Mariastein
    Switzerland
Simple

Opening times

Types 2018 2019
Opening dates    
Opening dates 02.03.2018 - 02.12.2018 01.03.2019 - 01.12.2019
Check In/Out    
Check-in 17:00 - 21:00 17:00 - 21:00
Check-out 08:00 - 10:00 08:00 - 10:00
Reception times    
Mon to Fri: 08:00 - 10:00
17:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 10:00
17:00 - 21:00
Sat and Sun: 08:00 - 10:00
17:00 - 21:00
08:00 - 10:00
17:00 - 21:00
Meal times    
Breakfast 08:00 - 09:00 08:00 - 09:00
Dinner 18:30 - 20:00 18:30 - 20:00

How to find us

By train:

From Basle main SBB station, walk through the underpass to Basle Heuwaage (5 minutes) and take tram no. 10, in the direction of Flüh-Rodersdorf, to Flüh. Continue your journey by postal bus to Rotberg Castle (request stop). The castle is accessible on foot.

By car:

The youth hostel has no car parking spaces. A limited numbers are at branch-off Mariasteinstrasse/Rotbergstrasse

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices (in CHF) and availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • All prices exclusive of taxes CHF 0.30 (schools) / CHF 1.– (individuals) per person/night, including VAT.
    • The Hostel Card Standard is included in the price of accommodation and is valid from the day of arrival to the day of departure.
    • You have the option of purchasing a Hostel Card Premium and benefit from cheaper accommodation prices in all Swiss youth Hostels. More information about the Hostel Card Premium
    •  Groups (minimum of 10 people) are advised to buy a Hostel Card Premium (personal: CHF 55.– / non-personal: CHF 99.–)
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15.– and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25.– per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Rent of the whole castle as a closed company (price on request)
    • Rent knight's hall and self-catering kitchen (price on request)
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • Rotberg Castle

    Rotberg Youth Hostel near Mariastein and Ehrenfels Castle above Sils in the Domleschg region are the two so-called Swiss "Youth Castles". During the 1930s, voluntary work programmes for unemployed young people were organised under the supervision of the architect Eugen Probst on the line of similar projects in Germany and France. The primary concern of the restoration work was not the preservation of the historic building fabric, but rather to prevent the ruin from further disintegration and to provide young people with a castle suitable for working in and staying overnight.

    The northern Jura plateau region features one of the densest concentrations of castles in Switzerland, with more than a dozen notable castles and castle ruins. Rotberg Castle did not play a particularly important role, nor was it of exceptional interest in terms of architectural history. Speculation that Rotberg Castle may have been the legendary Robur fortress of Emperor Valentinian I intended to provide protection against the Germanic tribes seems implausible. It would appear more probable that the castle was founded at the same time as the majority of Swiss castles, which date back to the12th and 13th centuries.

    The building was erected on a rocky outcrop at the foot of the Blauen hill. Space was so limited that special retaining walls had to be built for the road and a small enclosure.

    Documentary evidence of the von Rothbergs dates back to the second half of the 13th century, with Johans and Wernher von Rothberg as the first representatives of their family to be mentioned. The von Rothbergs sought to be connected to the ever more influential town of Basel at an early stage and subsequently provided the mayor on several occasions. In 1451, a certain Arnold von Rothberg was even ordained as the Bishop of Basel.

    Whether, as early as 1356, Rotberg Castle was destroyed by the great Basel earthquake is not known for certain. However, it is possible that the castle was so severely damaged then that it was never properly repaired and gradually fell into decay.

    The castle estate situated at the foot of the castle mound remained in operation, however. In 1918, the "Allgemeine Consumverein beider Basel" (Co-operative Union of Basel) took over this estate and acquired the ruins into the bargain.

    The reconstruction

    In 1933, the Zurich architect and President of the “Schweizerischer Burgenverein” (Swiss Castle Society), Eugen Probst, proposed rebuilding Rotberg Castle as a so-called “Youth Castle” on the line of examples in Germany and France. To do so, he envisaged the use of unemployed young people in order to offer them an opportunity to gain practical work experience at the same time. The Co-operative Union of Basel supported the venture and had collecting boxes placed in its shops for this purpose.

    Some 30 young people began the work in January 1934. Eugen Probst took care of the planning; the Co-operative Union for its part supplied the building management from among its ranks.

    The work was finally completed on 27 November 1935 and the youth hostel opened.

  • Please switch to German for more information.

    • Swisslos Lotteriefonds des Kanton Solothurn
    • Coop
    • Swisslos Fonds Basel Stadt
    • Swisslos Lotteriefonds des Kanton Basel Landschaft

Current specials

Member benefits

  • Accommodation at a special price for members
  • Network of 51 Swiss Youth Hostels
  • Partner discounts and many more benefits
  • With a membership with Swiss Youth Hostels, you enjoy additional benefits

Surroundings

Directions

Labels and Awards

Mariastein
Solothurn

Mariastein

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Erobern Sie die stolze Höhenburg der Herren und Ritter von Rotberg! Ihr Lohn: verwinkelte Treppen, ein Turmzimmer und ein herrlicher Ausblick.

Aussenansicht Jugendherberge Mariastein Steinschloss

Mariastein

Solothurn

Wie vor 500 Jahren: Über 150 Treppenstufen zwischen hohen Bäumen gelangen Sie auf einen steil abfallenden Bergkamm des «Blauen» und treten durch ein Tor in den Burghof. Hinter meterdicken Mauern speisen Sie im Rittersaal mit offenem Kamin und schlafen wie einst die Adelsleute im Schlafraum hinter einer massiven Holztür. Vom Wehrgang aus blicken Sie auf den nahen Wallfahrtsort Mariastein und über grüne Hügel und Wälder in Richtung Basel. Ausserdem lassen sich hier besonders spektakuläre Sonnenuntergänge beobachten. Wenn Sie diesem Aufenthalt noch mehr mittelalterliche Erlebnisse hinzufügen möchten, empfiehlt sich ein Besuch der Ruine Landskron, Klosters Mariastein oder eine Burgenwanderung durchs Leimental.

  • Jugendherberge Mariastein
    Burg Rotberg
    4115 Mariastein-Rotberg
    Schweiz
  • Check-in: 17:00 - 21:00 Uhr Check-out: 08:00 - 10:00 Uhr
Simple

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Von Basel mit dem Tram Nr. 10 (Richtung Flüh/Rodersdorf) bis Flüh, dann mit dem Postauto Nr. 69 nach Mariastein. Das Postauto hält auf Verlangen bei «Rotberg», ab Haltestelle 500 m zu Fuss.

Mit dem Auto:

Mit dem Auto und Fahrrad Anfahrt bis unter den Burghügel möglich. Die Jugendherberge verfügt über keine eigenen Parkplätze. Eine limitierte Anzahl Parkplätze befindet sich bei der Abzweigung Mariasteinstrasse zur Rotbergstrasse.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen auf Anfrage 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF
    • Alle Preise exklusive Kurtaxen CHF 0.30 (Schulen) / CHF 1.– (Einzelgäste) pro Person/Nacht, inklusive MwSt.
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Zuschlag für die Tagesmitgliedschaft von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–
    • Infos und Vorteile zur Jahresmitgliedschaft
    • Gruppen (mind. 10 Personen) lösen mit Vorteil eine Gruppen-Jahresmitgliedschaft (persönlich: CHF 55.– / unpersönlich CHF 99.–)
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.– und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.– pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Miete der ganzen Burg als Geschlossene Gesellschaft (Preis auf Anfrage)
    • Miete Rittersaal und Selbstkocherküche (Preis auf Anfrage)
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Die Burg Rotberg

    Die Jugendherberge Burg Rotberg bei Mariastein gehört zusammen mit der Burg Ehrenfels oberhalb Sils im Domleschg zu den beiden sogenannten "Jugendburgen" der Schweiz. Nach Vorbildern in Deutschland und Frankreich wurden in den 30er Jahren unter der Leitung von Architekt Eugen Probst freiwillige Arbeitsprogramme mit erwerbslosen Jugendlichen organisiert. Bei den Restaurationsarbeiten standen nicht in erster Linie denkmalpflegerische und geschichtliche Aspekte im Vordergrund, als vielmehr das Ziel, den Verfall der Ruine zu stoppen und Jugendlichen eine zum Arbeiten und Übernachten bewohnbare Burg zur Verfügung zu stellen.

    Das Gebiet des nördlichen Tafeljuras gehört zu den burgenreichsten Gebieten der Schweiz. Es werden hier über ein Dutzend beachtlicher Burgen oder Burgruinen gezählt. Die Burg Rotberg nahm dabei weder eine besondere Stellung ein, noch war sie baugeschichtlich von übergeordnetem Wert. Vermutungen, nach denen es sich bei der Burg Rotberg um die legendäre Festung Robur Kaisers Valentinians I. zum Schutz vor den Germanen handelte, scheinen nicht glaubhaft. Vielmehr wird angenommen, dass die Gründung der Burg in die Zeit der meisten Schweizer Burgengründungen zwischen dem 12. und 13. Jahrhundert fällt.

    Das Bauwerk war auf einem felsigen Vorsprung am Fusse des "Blauen" errichtet worden. Dieser bot so wenig Platz, dass für den Weg und einen kleinen Zwinger spezielle Stützmauern erstellt wurden.

    Als erste Vertreter ihres Geschlechts fanden Johans und Wernher von Rothberg in der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts eine urkundliche Erwähnung. Schon früh suchten die Herren von Rothberg die Nähe zur immer einflussreicheren Stadt Basel und stellten in der Folge mehrmals den Bürgermeister. 1451 wurde ein gewisser Arnold von Rothberg gar zum Basler Bischof geweiht.

    Ob die Burg Rotberg bereits beim grossen Basler Erdbeben von 1356 zerstört wurde, steht nicht fest. Möglicherweise hat sie damals aber in einem solchen Ausmass Schaden erlitten, dass sie nie mehr richtig repariert wurde und allmählich zerfiel.

    Das am Fuss des Burghügels gelegene Schlossgut wurde jedoch weiterhin betrieben. 1918 übernahm der Allgemeine Consumverein beider Basel diesen Hof und kam so nebenbei in den Besitz der Ruine.

    Der Wiederaufbau

    1933 schlug der Zürcher Architekt und Präsident des Schweizerischen Burgenvereins Eugen Probst vor, nach Beispielen in Deutschland und Frankreich die Burg Rotberg als eine sogenannte Jugendburg neu entstehen zu lassen. Dazu sah er den Einsatz arbeitsloser Jugendlicher vor, um ihnen gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit nach praktischer Berufserfahrung zu ermöglichen. Der Allgemeine Consumverein beider Basel unterstützte dieses Vorhaben und liess dazu in seinen Läden Sammelbüchsen aufstellen.

    Im Januar 1934 begannen rund 30 Jugendliche mit den Arbeiten. Eugen Probst kümmerte sich um die Planung, der Consumverein seinerseits stellte aus seinen Reihen die Bauleitung zur Verfügung.

    Am 27. November 1935 war es schliesslich soweit, die Jugendburg konnte eröffnet werden.

  • Folgende Events finden in unserer Jugendherberge statt:

    Samstag, 18. August 2018 – Sommernachtsfest

    – Live Band Ira May
    – DJ Silikon
    – Grill, Beiz und Bar ab 18:00 Uhr  
    – Eintritt CHF 25.–

    Dienstag, 30. April 2019 – Walpurgisnacht

    • Live Band
    • Grill, Beiz und Hexen-Bar ab 18.00 Uhr
    • Eintritt frei
    • Swisslos Lotteriefonds des Kanton Solothurn
    • Coop
    • Swisslos Fonds Basel Stadt
    • Swisslos Lotteriefonds des Kanton Basel Landschaft

Aktuelle Specials

Unsere Mitgliedervorteile

  • Übernachtung zum Mitgliederpreis
  • Netzwerk von über 50 Schweizer Jugendherbergen
  • Partnerrabatte und viele weitere Vorteile
  • Mit einer Mitgliedschaft bei den Schweizer Jugendherbergen profitieren Sie von weiteren Vorteilen

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen