Leissigen
Berne

Leissigen

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

A holiday in the summer residence of the legendary creator of Ovaltine? Definitely! The historic chalet-style house right on the shore of Lake Thun has already received many enthusiastic visitors.

Leissigen

Berne

In the fishing village of Leissigen, you have a whole range of Swiss landscapes to choose from. From the youth hostel's terrace, enjoy a wonderful view of Lake Thun and Beatenberg, where water has carved out an intricate limestone cave system with stalagmites and stalactites. At the hostel's own pebble beach, you can marvel at the Bernese Alps while paddling in the clear water. The Albert Wander house is a wonderful place from which to plan hikes to roaring waterfalls or bike tours along the lake shore. For those who aim even higher, follow James Bond's tracks up to the Schilthorn or travel to the top of the Jungfraujoch. But you can also enjoy a panoramic view from the suspension bridge in Leissigen.

  • Leissigen Youth Hostel
    Albert Wander Haus
    Oberfeldweg 9
    3706 Leissigen
    Switzerland
Classic

By train:

By train from Interlaken or Spiez (local train) to Leissigen. Ten minutes' walk from Leissingen station to the youth hostel (sign-posted).

By car:

The youth hostel has a limited number of chargeable car parking spaces, for which advance reservation is recommended.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • All prices exclusive of taxes CHF 2.50 per person/night, including VAT.
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15 and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25 per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Rates are subject to change, all rates in CHF
    • Car park per night CHF 7.-
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
  • The Albert Wander House

    Leissigen Youth Hostel owes its existence to the remarkable social personnel policy of the Wander company as well as to the generosity of the founding family. The building was once the holiday home of company founder Dr. Albert Wander who sweetened the childhood of entire generations in many countries since 1904 with his Ovomaltine. In 1952, following the deaths of the founding couple, their descendants gave the “La Nichée” property on Lake Thun, together with most of its furnishings, to the company’s pension fund with the aim of making it available to Wander employees as a holiday home. Since 1992, the Youth Hostels Association has looked after the hostel.

    Ovomaltine

    In 1863, a young academic by the name of Georg Wander from Osthofen near Worms was appointed to the then Institute for Chemistry and Pharmacy at the University of Bern. He quickly felt at home in Bern and, in addition to his duties as an assistant, devoted himself to malt which at that time attracted a great deal of attention as a nutritious and easily digestible food. He soon became so absorbed in his own research that within two years he gave up his university post. From then on he earned an income as a producer of mineral water and supplier of chemical analyses of all kinds, devoting himself first and foremost, of course, to malt. Soon Georg Wander offered malt in the form of a bitter tasting syrup that was given as a tonic especially to new mothers and infants.

    In the mid-1890s, Georg Wander became so ill that he was forced to hand over his business to his son Albert who continued with the malt research on his father’s behalf. Continued development of the vacuum-drying process finally made it possible to produce malt in powder form. This meant the great breakthrough for the family company. Just one year later, Ovomaltine was launched.

    Company social policy

    Alongside an expansion of the malt product, a laboratory was built and in due course followed a pharmaceutical department that was soon also able to launch successful products. In 1963, the company operated in 93 countries and employed a workforce of around 6,000. In the 1960s, no less than eight persons were occupied almost exclusively with social tasks for the benefit of the employees. It was thus only natural that after the deaths of the founding couple, their heirs bequeathed the family property on Lake Thun to the company pension fund in 1952 with the aim of turning it into a holiday home for the employees.

    The “La Nichée” residence

    A total of three buildings are arranged at different levels in the extensive grounds. At the very top is the house for the staff, on the lakeside the spacious boathouse and between them the chalet-style main house from where a wonderful view over Lake Thun to the Niesen mountain rising on the opposite shore can be enjoyed.

    The end of the 1980s saw a gradual decline in interest in holidays at home with the result that the running was transferred to the Youth Hostels Association in 1992. Since 2001, the properties have been owned by the Swiss Foundation for Social Tourism.

Current specials

Your benefits in the area

  • PanoramaCard Thunersee: benefit from numerous discounts (some incl. public transport)
  • Especially for our members: free surfboard hire

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Leissigen
Bern

Leissigen

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Ferien in der Sommer-Residenz des legendären Ovo-Erfinders? Klar! Das historische Haus im Chalet-Stil direkt am Thunersee hat schon viele begeistert.

Leissigen

Bern

Im Fischerdorf Leissigen haben Sie die ganze Vielfalt der Schweizer Naturlandschaften zur Auswahl. Auf der Terrasse der Jugendherberge geniessen Sie eine herrliche Aussicht auf Thunersee und Beatenberg, an dessen Fuss das Wasser ein verzweigtes Tropfsteinhöhlen-System in den Stein gefressen hat. Am hauseigenen Kiesstrand haben Sie die Berner Alpen im Rücken und können gleichzeitig im klaren Wasser herumpaddeln. Im Albert Wander Haus lassen sich wunderbar Wanderungen zu tosenden Wasserfällen oder Velotouren am Seeufer planen. Wer ganz hoch hinaus will, folgt den Spuren von James Bond aufs Schilthorn oder fährt aufs Jungfraujoch. Aber Panorama gibts ja bereits auf der Leissiger Hängebrücke.

  • Jugendherberge Leissigen
    Albert Wander Haus
    Oberfeldweg 9
    3706 Leissigen
    Schweiz
Classic

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Mit dem Zug von Interlaken oder Spiez (Regionalzug) nach Leissigen. Vom Bahnhof Leissigen in 10 Minuten zu Fuss zur Jugendherberge (beschildert).

Mit dem Auto:

Die Jugendherberge verfügt über eine limitierte Anzahl gebührenpflichtiger Parkplätze, wir empfehlen Ihnen, im Voraus zu reservieren.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF
    • Alle Preise exklusive Kurtaxen CHF 2.50 pro Person/Nacht, inklusive MwSt.
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Parkplatz pro Übernachtung CHF 7.—
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Albert Wander-Haus

    Ihre Existenz verdankt die Jugendherberge in Leissigen der bemerkenswerten sozialen Personalpolitik der Firma Wander sowie der Spendenfreudigkeit der Gründerfamilie. Es handelt sich beim Gebäude um die ursprüngliche Ferienresidenz des Firmengründers Dr. Albert Wander, welcher seit 1904 ganzen Generationen in vielen Ländern mit seiner Ovomaltine die Kindheit versüsste. Nach dem Tod des Gründerehepaars schenkten die Erben 1952 das Anwesen «La Nichée» am Thunersee und den grössten Teil des Mobiliars der firmeneigenen Pensionskasse mit dem Zweck, sie den Angestellten der Firma Wander als Ferienheim zur Verfügung zu stellen. Seit 1992 hat der Verein für Jugendherbergen die Herbergsliegenschaft übernommen.

    Ovomaltine

    1863 wurde ein junger Akademiker namens Georg Wander aus Osthofen bei Worms an das Institut für Chemie und Pharmazie der Universität Bern berufen. Er fühlte sich in Bern schnell heimisch und widmete sich nebst seinen Aufgaben als Assistent vorab dem Malz, welches als nährreiches und leicht verdauliches Nahrungsmittel damals grosses Interesse hervorrief. Bald war er von seinen eigenen Forschungen so gefesselt, dass er nach zwei Jahren seine Universitätsstelle bereits wieder aufgab. Er verdiente seinen Lebensunterhalt fortan als Produzent von Mineralwasser und Anbieter von chemischen Untersuchungen aller Art und widmete sich dabei natürlich vorab dem Malz. Bald bot Georg Wander Malz in Form eines bitter schmeckenden Sirups an, welcher vor allem Wöchnerinnen und Säuglingen zur Stärkung verabreicht wurde.

    Mitte der 90er Jahren erkrankte Georg Wander so schwer, dass er den Betrieb seinem Sohn Albert übergeben musste. Jener führte die Malzforschung im Sinne seines Vaters weiter. Die Weiterentwicklung des Vakuum-Trocknungsverfahrens ermöglichte schliesslich die Herstellung von Malz in Form eines Pulvers. Dies bedeutete für das Familienunternehmen den grossen Durchbruch. Bereits ein Jahr später kam die Ovomaltine auf den Markt.

    Soziale Firmenpolitik

    Nebst einer Ausweitung der Malzprodukte entstand ein Laboratorium und in der Folge eine pharmazeutische Abteilung, welche bald ebenfalls erfolgreiche Produkte auf den Markt bringen konnte. 1963 war die Firma weltweit in 93 Ländern tätig und beschäftigte rund 6’000 Mitarbeiter. In den 60er Jahren waren alleine acht Personen praktisch ausschliesslich mit sozialen Aufgaben zu Gunsten der Belegschaft beschäftigt. So passt es bestens in dieses Bild, dass die Erben nach dem Hinschied des Gründerehepaars im Jahre 1952 das Anwesen der Familie am Thunersee der betrieblichen Pensionskasse vermacht haben, um darin ein Ferienheim für die Mitarbeiter anbieten zu können.

    Die Residenz «La Nichée»

    Über das weitläufige Grundstück am Hang staffeln sich insgesamt drei Gebäude ab. Zuoberst liegt das Haus für das Personal, am Ufer des Sees steht das grosszügige Bootshaus und dazwischen liegt das chaletartige Haupthaus, welches einen wunderbaren Ausblick über den Thunersee und den sich auf dem gegenüberliegenden Uferseite erhebenden Niesen ermöglicht.

    Ende der 80er Jahre verebbte allmählich das Interesse nach Heimferien, so dass der Betrieb 1992 dem Verein für Jugendherbergen übertragen wurde. Seit 2001 sind die Liegenschaften im Besitz der Schweizerischen Stiftung für Sozialtourismus.

Aktuelle Specials

Ihre Vorteile vor Ort

  • Panorama Card Thunersee: Profitieren Sie von zahlreichen Rabatten (teilweise inkl. ÖV)
  • Speziell für unsere Mitglieder: Gratis Surfbrett-Miete

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen