Davos
Grisons

Davos

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

Countless spa guests can't be wrong: for around 150 years, people have been enjoying the fresh air, cool mountain lakes and incredible Alpine panoramas in Davos.

Davos

Grisons

Situated in a renovated sanatorium, Youth Palace Davos welcomes you in style with its antique recliners, sunny location and an incredible view across the village and summits of the Grisons mountains. With the Parsenn funicular railway close by, there's a new adventure every day for families and solo travellers, and many are free or heavily discounted with the guest card. In summer, you can meet up at or on Lake Davos, and the mountains promise both adrenaline hits for bikers and active experiences for hikers. In winter, you can whiz past numerous snow-capped peaks, such as the Weissfluhjoch or the Jakobshorn, in one of the winter sport arena's six skiing areas.

  • Davos Youthpalace
    Horlaubenstrasse 27
    7260 Davos
    Switzerland
  • Check-in: 15:00 - 23:00 Clock Check-out: 07:00 - 10:00 Clock
Top

By train:

With the Rhätische Railway from Landquart to Davos Dorf, then with the local bus as far as the "Schiabach" stop.

By car:

From Landquart to Davos. When you reach the Hotel Dischma, about 1 km after entering the resort, turn right into Horlaubenstrasse. The youth hostel has a limited number of chargeable car parking spaces, for which advance reservation is recommended.

Barrier-free journey:

(From Davos Dorf Railway Station, 900m, approx. 15 Swiss Trac minutes) Swiss Trac is recommended, as the path to the Youth Hostel is very steep.

From Landquart Railway Station take the Rhätischen Bahn to "Davos Dorf Station". Take the local bus line 1, 2, 3, 4 or 7 to the stop "Schiabach". Now go back some 100m along the "Promenade", and turn left into ‘Horlaubenstrasse’. Continue along the road uphill for approx. 400m.

The Youth Hostel is located at the first sharp left-hand curve (sizeable Kurhaus Building). Pass the main entrance in order to access the rear (south-western) side of the building. Level access is available here. Please call the reception in order to enable the doors to be opened.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • All prices exclusive of taxes CHF 3.40 (May – Nov) / CHF 4.- (Dec – Apr) per person/night, including VAT.
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15 and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25 per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Car park per night CHF 7.–
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • The main entrance can only be reached via a flight of steps. However, there is a side entrance at ground level located at the rear narrow side of the building. Please call the reception upon arrival.

    Barrier-free accommodation

    36 rooms of the Youthpalace Davos have barrier-free access.

    Room Barrier-free beds per room
    21 double rooms with shower/WC 1 bed
    13 family rooms with shower/WC 2 beds
    2 4-bed rooms with washbasin 2 beds

    All rooms have a small threshold of 2.5 cm.

    All rooms (except roof terrace) are wheelchair accessible, and can be reached using the elevator, which connects all 7 storeys.

    • The width of the corridor in front of the elevator is 250 cm.
    • The width of the elevator door is 79 cm.
    • Elevator width: 90 cm
    • Elevator depth: 116 cm

    The width of the doors to the rooms is 78 cm.

    Barrier-free wet cells

    A barrier-free shower/WC is located on the 3rd storey.

    The wet cell dimensions are:

    • Width of wet cell door: 80 cm
    • WC seat height: 46 cm
    • The washbasin is wheelchair accessible: 83 cm
    • Shower seat
    • Shower handle

    Barrier-free journey

    By train / by foot

    From Davos Dorf Railway Station, 900m, approx. 15 Swiss Trac minutes. Swiss Trac is recommended, as the path to the Youth Hostel is very steep.

    From Landquart Railway Station take the Rhätischen Bahn to "Davos Dorf Station". Take the local bus line 1, 2, 3, 4 or 7 to the stop "Schiabach". Now go back some 100m along the "Promenade", and turn left into "Horlaubenstrasse". Continue along the road uphill for approx. 400m.

    By car

    From Lanquart to Davos. The Youth Hostel is located at the first sharp left-hand curve (sizeable Kurhaus Building). Pass the main entrance in order to access the rear (south-western) side of the building. Level access is available here. Please call the reception in order to enable the doors to be opened. The youth hostel has only normal, chargeable parking spaces. Please ensure you make an advance reservation. We will be pleased to make the disabled car parking space available free of charge for holders of the official blue disabled person’s parking permit.

    Useful information

    Links for public transport

    Taxi

    • Angelos Taxiunternehmen, Phone: +41 81 416 73 73

    Closest pharmacy

    approx. 15min

    • Amavita Apotheke Flüela
      GaleniCare AG
      Bahnhofstrasse 1
      7260 Davos
      Phone: +41 58 851 32 25

    Offers

  • A touch of Magic Mountain

    Davos stands for a world of sanatoriums, which at the beginning of the 20th century was not only synonymous with ill health. Patients’ minds and spirits were stimulated in the mountain world which was a totally incomparable experience for many of them. In the alpine community of people sharing the same destiny, far away from everyday life and duties, a rather special form of living flourished.

    Tuberculosis

    The history of Davos spa tourism can be traced back to the winter of 1865/66 during which two sick guests stayed in Davos whose health rapidly improved in the high-altitude climate. This led Dr. Alexander Spengler, the local doctor, together with partners in Davos, to organise the construction of a spa house, which later became the Hotel Europe. Fifteen years later, there followed a home for the seriously ill, the subsequent Alexanderhaus. Jan Wilem Holsboer also decided to move there from Holland due to his wife’s ill-health and acted as the Director of the Kurhaus for many years. He succeeded in making Davos ever-more well-known and arranged for the spa resort to be connected to the Rhaetian Railway network at a very early date.

    In the meantime, the tuberculosis bacterium was discovered and its long-suspected infection risk confirmed. Working in his own sanatorium, Dr. Karl Turban was the first to improve what had been poor hygienic conditions up to that time and introduced a recumbent therapy with strict periods of rest. He had his own specially designed reclining chairs produced for this purpose which still characterise the image of the sanatorium word to this day.

    Whereas the first sanatorium buildings were still constructed in the urban manner with historicising style elements, the arrival of the 20th century brought with it an increasingly characteristic construction type. Large halls for recumbent patients in the form of graceful external balcony constructions defined the main facades of the buildings.

    The avant-garde era

    One year after the opening of the newly constructed Waldsanatorium, the wife of writer Thomas Mann stayed there for therapy in 1912. It is to be assumed that he absorbed the essential impressions of the seclusion of this Davos patient community that forms the central issue of his novel “The Magic Mountain” in the course of his visits.

    Davos, however, did not enjoy its heyday until the inter-war years. An intelligentsia consisting of writers, painters and architects popularised the modern Davos. Flat roofs became compulsory for new buildings. Even the gable roof of the town hall was demolished during this period and replaced with a flat roof. The architectural highlight was probably reached with the Klinik Clavadel by Rudolf Gabarel in 1932. Nowadays it is regarded as an important representative of the classical modernity in Switzerland.

    Sanatorium Beau-Site

    It was a similar story with the present youth hostel in Davos-Dorf, the former “Beau-Site” sanatorium erected in 1913. From a slightly elevated position, it overlooks Davos-Dorf, pointing down the valley towards the sun with its spacious resting hall level. Following a first refurbishment in the classic-expressionist style in 1927, it was renamed the Sanatorium Albula. In 1957, the steep gable roof was replaced with a flat roof.

    During its most recent refurbishment, the building underwent conversion by Swiss Youth Hostels in 2000–2001 to become the first Swiss “Youthpalace”.

Current specials

Your benefits in the area

  • 10% discount on admission to the Färich high-wire adventure park
  • Discounted admission for HC Davos home games: 20% (excl. Spengler Cup)
  • 15% discount with Ettinger Sport at the Parsenn railway
  • Especially for members: free admission to Davos’ local heritage museum

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Davos
Graubünden

Davos

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Unzählige Kurgäste können nicht irren: Seit rund 150 Jahren geniesst man in Davos frische Luft, kühle Bergseen und ein Alpenpanorama der Superlative.

Davos

Graubünden

Die Jugendherberge Davos Youthpalace empfängt Sie stilecht im umgebauten Sanatorium mit antiken Liegestühlen, am Sonnenhang sowie mit grossartiger Aussicht über das Dorf und die Gipfel der Bündner Bergwelt. Ganz in der Nähe der Parsenn-Bahn beginnt für Familien und Einzeltouristen jeden Tag ein neues Abenteuer, mit der Gästekarte gratis oder zum kleinsten Preis. Im Sommer trifft man sich am oder auf dem Davosersee und die Berge versprechen sowohl Adrenalin für Biker als auch aktive Erlebnisse für Wanderer. Im Winter kann man in einem der sechs Skigebiete der Wintersportarena an zahlreichen verschneiten Aussichtsbergen vorbeiflitzen, beispielsweise am Weissfluhjoch oder am Jakobshorn.

  • Jugendherberge Davos Youthpalace
    Horlaubenstrasse 27
    7260 Davos-Dorf
    Schweiz
  • Check-in: 15:00 - 23:00 Uhr Check-out: 07:00 - 10:00 Uhr
Top

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Mit der Rhätischen Bahn von Landquart nach Davos Dorf und mit dem Ortsbus bis Haltestelle "Schiabach". 

Mit dem Auto:

Von Landquart nach Davos. Rund 1 km nach dem Ortseingang, beim Hotel Dischma, rechts in die Horlaubenstrasse abbiegen. Die Jugendherberge verfügt über eine limitierte Anzahl gebührenpflichtiger Parkplätze, wir empfehlen Ihnen, im Voraus zu reservieren.

Hindernisfrei anreisen:

Vom Bahnhof Davos Dorf, 900m, ca. 15 Swiss Trac Minuten. Swiss Trac wird empfohlen, da der Weg zur Jugendherberge sehr steil ist.

Ab Bahnhof Landquart mit der Rhätischen Bahn bis zur Haltestelle "Davos Dorf". Mit dem Ortsbus Linie 1, 2, 3, 4 oder 7 bis zur Haltestelle "Schiabach". Nun der ‚Promenade’ entlang rund 100m zurück gehen/fahren und links in die "Horlaubenstrasse" einbiegen. Ca. 400m der Strasse entlang bergaufwärts.

Die Jugendherberge befindet sich in der ersten scharfen Linkskurve (mächtiger Kurhaus-Bau). Am Haupteingang vorbei zur hinteren (süd-westlichen) Gebäudeseite. Hier besteht ein stufenloser Zugang. Bitte Rezeption anrufen, damit die Türe geöffnet werden kann.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF
    • Alle Preise exklusive Kurtaxen CHF 3.40 (Mai – Nov) / CHF 4.- (Dez – Apr) pro Person/Nacht, inklusive MwSt.
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Parkplatz pro Übernachtung CHF 7.—
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30 
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Der Haupteingang ist nur über eine Treppe erreichbar, es gibt jedoch einen ebenerdigen Nebenzugang auf der hinteren schmalen Gebäudeseite. Bei Ankunft bitte die Rezeption anrufen.

    Hindernisfreie Unterkunft

    36 Zimmer des Youthpalace Davos sind barrierefrei zugänglich.

    Zimmer Hindernisfreie Betten pro Zimmer
    21 Doppelzimmer mit Dusche/WC 1 Bett
    13 Familienzimmer mit Dusche/WC 2 Betten
    2 4-Bett-Zimmer mit Lavabo 2 Betten

    Alle Zimmer verfügen über eine kleine Schwelle von 2,5 cm.

    Sämtliche Räume (ausser Dachterrasse) sind rollstuhlgängig und mit dem Personenlift, welcher alle 7 Geschosse erschliesst, bequem erreichbar.

    • Flurbreite vor dem Lift: 250 cm
    • Türbreite Lift: 79 cm
    • Liftbreite: 90 cm
    • Lifttiefe: 116 cm

    Die Türbreite der Zimmer beträgt 78 cm.

    Hindernisfreie Nasszellen

    Auf der 3. Etage befindet sich eine hindernisfreie Dusche/WC.

    Die Masse der Nasszelle betragen:

    Türbreite zur Nasszelle: 80 cm
    WC-Sitzhöhe: 46 cm
    Waschbecken unterfahrbar: 83 cm
    Duschsitz vorhanden
    Haltegriffe vorhanden

    Hindernisfreie Anreise

    Mit dem Zug / zu Fuss

    Vom Bahnhof Davos Dorf, 900m, ca. 15 Swiss Trac Minuten. Swiss Trac wird empfohlen, da der Weg zur Jugendherberge sehr steil ist.

    Ab Bahnhof Landquart mit der Rhätischen Bahn bis zur Haltestelle "Davos Dorf". Mit dem Ortsbus Linie 1, 2, 3, 4 oder 7 bis zur Haltestelle "Schiabach". Nun der ‚Promenade’ rund 100m zurück gehen/fahren und links in die "Horlaubenstrasse" einbiegen. Ca. 400m der Strasse entlang bergaufwärts.

    Mit dem Auto

    Von Landquart nach Davos. Rund 1 km nach dem Ortseingang, beim Hotel Dischma, rechts in die Horlaubenstrasse abbiegen. Die Jugendherberge befindet sich in der ersten scharfen Linkskurve (mächtiger Kurhaus-Bau). Am Haupteingang vorbei zur hinteren (süd-westlichen) Gebäudeseite. Hier besteht ein stufenloser Zugang. Bitte Rezeption anrufen, damit die Türe geöffnet werden kann. Die Jugendherberge verfügt nur über reguläre, gebührenpflichtige Parkplätze. Wir bitten Sie, unbedingt im Voraus zu reservieren. Für Menschen mit Behinderungen, welche die offizielle blaue Parkkarte besitzen, stellen wir den Parkplatz gerne kostenlos zur Verfügung.

    Nützliche Informationen

    Links für öffentlichen Verkehr

    Taxi

    • Angelos Taxiunternehmen: Tel: +41 81 416 73 73

    Nächstgelegene Apotheke

    ca. 15min

    • Amavita Apotheke Flüela
      GaleniCare AG
      Bahnhofstrasse 1
      7260 Davos
      Tel: +41 58 851 32 25

    Angebote

  • Ein Hauch von Zauberberg

    Davos steht für eine Welt der Sanatorien, welche anfangs des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht nur mit Krankheit gleichzusetzen war. Geist und Muse der Patienten wurden in der für viele Patienten unvergleichlichen Bergwelt angeregt und gediehen unter der alpinen Schicksalsgemeinschaft, fern von Alltag und Pflichten, zu einer besonderen Lebensform.

    Tuberkulose

    Als Beginn des Davoser Kurtourismus darf der Winter 1865/66 betrachtet werden, als zwei kranke Gäste in Davos überwinterten und sich ihr Zustand im Höhenklima rasch besserte. Der Landschaftsarzt Dr. Alexander Spengler liess darauf mit Davoser Partnern ein Kurhaus, das spätere Hotel Europe, errichten. 15 Jahre später folgte ein Heim für Schwerkranke, das spätere Alexanderhaus. Aufgrund der Krankheit seiner Frau entschied sich auch Jan Wilem Holsboer für den Zuzug aus Holland und stand dem Kurhaus längere Zeit als Direktor vor. Es gelang ihm, Davos mehr und mehr bekannt zu machen und erreichte einen frühen Anschluss des Kurortes ans Eisenbahnnetz der Rhätischen Bahn.

    Unterdessen wurde der Tuberkulosebazillus entdeckt und es bestätigte sich seine längst vermutete Ansteckungsgefahr. Dr. Karl Turban begann als erster, in seinem eigenen Sanatorium die vormals noch schlechten hygienischen Verhältnisse zu verbessern und führte eine Liegetherapie mit strikten Ruhezeiten ein. Dazu liess er eigens entwickelte Liegestühle produzieren, welche noch heute das Bild der Sanatoriumswelt nachhaltig prägen.

    Wurden die ersten Sanatoriumsbauten noch in städtischer Bauweise mit historisierenden Stilelementen errichtet, bildete sich um die Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert ein mehr und mehr eigener Bautyp heraus. Grosse Liegehallen in Form von vorgelagerten, feingliedrigen Balkonkonstruktionen bestimmten die Hauptfassaden der Gebäude.

    Die Zeit der Avantgarde

    Ein Jahr nach der Eröffnung des neu errichteten Waldsanatoriums weilte die Frau des Schriftstellers Thomas Mann 1912 dort zur Kur. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass er die wesentlichen Eindrücke der in Manns Roman «Der Zauberberg» thematisierten Abgeschlossenheit dieser Davoser Krankengemeinschaft bei seinen Besuchen aufgenommen hatte.

    Die eigentliche Blüte erlebte Davos aber erst in den Zwischenkriegsjahren. Eine Intelligenzia um Schriftsteller, Maler und Architekten propagierten ein neuzeitliches Davos. Es wurde für Neubauten eine Flachdachpflicht eingeführt. Selbst das Giebeldach des Rathauses wurde in dieser Zeit abgebrochen und nachträglich durch ein Flachdach ersetzt. Als architektonischen Höhepunkt darf die 1932 erstellte Klinik Clavadel von Rudolf Gabarel genannt werden, welche heute als ein bedeutender Vertreter der klassischen Moderne in der Schweiz steht.

    Sanatorium Beau-Site

    So handelt es sich bei der heutigen Jugendherberge in Davos-Dorf um das 1913 erbaute ehemalige Sanatorium «Beau-Site». Leicht erhöht thront es über Davos-Dorf und richtet sich mit seiner grosszügigen Liegehallenschicht talabwärts gegen die Sonne. Nach einem ersten Umbau 1927 in klassizistisch-expressionistischer Manier wurde es in Sanatorium Albula umbenannt. 1957 folgte der Ersatz des steilen Giebeldaches durch ein Flachdach.

    Als jüngster baulicher Eingriff wurde das Gebäude 2000–2001 von den Schweizer Jugendherbergen in das erste Schweizer «Youthpalace» umgebaut.

Aktuelle Specials

Ihre Vorteile vor Ort

  • 10 % Rabatt auf den Eintritt in den Seilpark Färich
  • Vergünstigte Eintritte für Heimspiele des HC Davos: 20 % (ohne Spenglercup)
  • 15% Rabatt bei Ettinger-Sport an der Parsenn-Bahn
  • Speziell für Mitglieder: Gratiseintritt ins Heimatmuseum Davos

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen