Dachsen am Rheinfall
Canton Zurich

Dachsen am Rheinfall

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

The chance to stay in the rocky castle of Laufen, above the roaring waters of the Rhine Falls, attracts both thrill seekers and history buffs.

Outside view and Rhine falls Dachsen am Rheinfall Youth Hostel

Dachsen am Rheinfall

Canton Zurich

The roaring waters of Europe's largest waterfall have plenty of stories to tell about the castle, from being the seat of grand nobility to medieval quarrels over ownership, and the aftermath of the French revolution. Come and experience both the castle's character and the natural spectacle for yourself! History comes to life in the cosy chambers within the walls, and in next to no time you can walk or take a boat to the observation points for the spectacular waterfall, whose might has already enthralled many famous visitors, such as Goethe. There are further beautiful views along the Rhine Falls walking tour or from the treetops of the nearby Adventure Park.

  • Dachsen am Rheinfall Youth Hostel
    Schloss Laufen am Rheinfall
    8447 Dachsen
    Switzerland
  • Check-in: 17:00 - 21:00 Check-out: 08:00 - 09:30
Simple

By train:

By train from Zurich in 45 minutes via Winterthur to "Schloss Laufen", directly below the youth hostel. You can also travel to "Neuhausen Rheinfall" and "Dachsen" stations. Walking time: 15 minutes.

By car:

Coming by car, drive in the direction of the "Rheinfall" (Rhine Falls). Large car park for cars and coaches available. Parking places are free of charge.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • No taxes
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–
    • Benefits of our annual membership
    • Groups (minimum of 10 people) are advised to buy an annual membership (personal: CHF 55.– / non-personal: CHF 99.–)
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15.– and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25.– per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • Schloss Laufen

    Perched majestically on an outcrop of rock just below the Rhine Falls at Dachsen sits the thousand-year-old Schloss Laufen castle. Despite its romantic situation, it owes its location first and foremost to strategic considerations. Because of the raging waters below the Rhine Falls and the strong current above, it was well-nigh impossible to capture the castle by water.

    The Barons of Laufen

    Laufen is first mentioned by name in the documentary records in 858 in a property transfer involving the Wolven family living in Thurgau. The name "Laufen" originates from "grosses Lauffen" as the Rhine waterfall was known at that time.

    Ownership of the castle frequently changed, and was not always clearly recorded. In the 12th century, the castle was presumed to belong to the bishop of Constance, while at the same time ownership was also documented in Laufen by the Monastery of All Saints in Schaffhausen and the Counts of Kyburg.

    Even the noble lineage of the Barons of Laufen who take their name from the castle, only owned it for around a hundred years.

    The Old Zurich War

    After a period in which the castle changed hands several times, it was the property of the Fulach family during the Old Zurich War (1439–1450). The fact that since the departure of the Barons of Laufen, the right to live in it with their successors, the Barons of Tengen, made the castle enemy property from the Zurich perspective. During the siege and conquest of the castle in 1449, it was reported that the defenders protecting the Fulach family endeavoured to escape by lowering themselves from the rock outcrop on long ropes and swimming to the other bank. A single occupant, who regarded the turbulent waters of the Rhine as the greater danger, remained behind and allowed the besiegers into the castle. Just one year later, however, soldiers loyal to the Fulach family succeeded in reconquering the castle. With diplomatic foresight, they gave up their Schaffhausen citizenship and applied for that of Zurich.

    The property of the city of Zurich

    Despite the endeavours of the city of Schaffhausen to gain a foothold on the left bank of the Rhine through the acquisition of Laufen Castle, Hans Wilhelm von Fulach finally sold the property together with the surrounding bailiwicks of Uhwiesen and Dachsen to the city of Zurich in 1544. Zurich thus gained a welcome territorial expansion to the north and had the acquisition converted into a residence for its chief bailiff shortly thereafter. It remained unchanged in this building condition for almost three centuries and the ring wall with its striking rectangular gate tower constructed at that time remains largely in existence to this day. Domination of the countryside by the city through the bailiwicks was consolidated and still produced feudalistic traits until the end of the 18th century. This came to an abrupt end with Napoleon’s invasion in 1798. The bailiwicks were deprived of their status and the castle, like many others, remained uninhabited for some years. It was only from 1804 that the castle was occupied again by a series of tenants. One of these was the landscape painter Ludwig Bleuer, who relocated his school of painting to the castle in 1833, with the intention of creating a great work above the Rhine. In 1845, he was able to purchase the castle. Around 100 years later, in 1941, the Canton of Zurich acquired the castle from his descendants. It was put to use as a youth hostel which opened officially in 1946.

Current specials

Our member benefits

  • Accommodation at a special price for members
  • Network of more than 50 Swiss Youth Hostels
  • Partner discounts and many more benefits

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Dachsen am Rheinfall
Zürich

Dachsen am Rheinfall

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Ein Schlafplatz im Felsenschloss Laufen über den tosenden Wassermassen des Rheinfalls entzückt Erlebnishungrige und Geschichtsbegeisterte.

Aussenansicht Jugendherberge Dachsen am Rheinfall mit Fluss

Dachsen am Rheinfall

Zürich

Die reissenden Fluten des grössten Wasserfalls in Europa könnten viele Geschichten erzählen. Vom einstigen Adelssitz auf erhabenem Felssporn, mittelalterlichen Besitzstreitereien und Nachwehen der französischen Revolution. Aber lassen Sie doch den Schlosscharakter und das Naturspektakel direkt auf sich wirken! In den gemütlichen Kammern im Gemäuer wird die Vergangenheit greifbar und in kürzester Zeit erreicht man zu Fuss oder per Schiff die Beobachtungspunkte für ein überwältigendes Wasserschauspiel, dessen Wucht schon viele berühmte Besucher wie Goethe begeistert hat. Andere schöne Perspektiven ergeben sich auf dem Rheinfall-Rundweg oder in den Baumwipfeln des nahen Adventure Parks.

  • Jugendherberge Dachsen am Rheinfall
    Schloss Laufen am Rheinfall
    8447 Dachsen
    Schweiz
  • Check-in: 17:00 - 21:00 Uhr Check-out: 08:00 - 09:30 Uhr
Simple

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Mit dem Zug von Zürich in 45 Minuten via Winterthur bis "Schloss Laufen", direkt unterhalb der Jugendherberge. Auch die Stationen "Neuhausen Rheinfall" und "Dachsen" können angefahren werden. Der Fussweg beträgt eine Viertelstunde zu Fuss.

Mit dem Auto:

Mit dem Auto Richtung "Rheinfall" fahren. Ein grosser Auto- und Busparkplatz ist vorhanden. Die Parkplätze sind kostenlos.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen auf Anfrage
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF
    • Keine Kurtaxen
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Zuschlag für die Tagesmitgliedschaft von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–
    • Infos und Vorteile zur Jahresmitgliedschaft
    • Gruppen (mind. 10 Personen) lösen mit Vorteil eine Gruppen-Jahresmitgliedschaft (persönlich: CHF 55.– / unpersönlich CHF 99.–)
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30 
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Schloss Laufen

    Auf einem Felssporn unmittelbar über dem Rheinfall bei Dachsen thront das über tausendjährige Schloss Laufen. Trotz seiner romantischen Lage waren in erster Linie strategische Gründe für den Standort ausschlaggebend. Angesichts des reissenden Wassers unterhalb und des starken Sogs oberhalb des Rheinfalls war eine flussseitige Einnahme der Burg nahezu unmöglich.

    Die Freiherren von Laufen

    Im Jahre 858 findet Laufen eine erste namentliche Erwähnung in einer Besitzvergabe der im Thurgau ansässigen Wolven. Der Name "Laufen" entstammt der Bezeichnung "grosses Lauffen", wie damals der Wasserfall des Rheins bezeichnet wurde.

    Die Besitzverhältnisse der Burg änderten oft und waren nicht immer eindeutig. Im 12. Jahrhundert galt die Burg als Besitz des Bischofs von Konstanz, während gleichzeitig auch vom Kloster Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen und den Grafen von Kyburg Besitztümer in Laufen bezeugt wurden.

    Selbst das nach ihr benannte Adelsgeschlecht der Freiherren von Laufen blieb nur gerade während rund hundert Jahren Besitzer der Burg.

    Der alte Zürich-Krieg

    Nachdem das Schloss mehrfach die Besitzer gewechselt hatte, war es in der Zeit des alten Zürichkrieges (1439–1450) Eigentum der Familie Fulach. Dass das Lebensrecht seit dem Wegzug der Herren von Laufen bei den damaligen Nachfolgern, den Freiherren von Tengen verblieben war, machte die Burg aus Sicht der Zürcher zum Feindesgut. Während der Belagerung und Eroberung der Burg im Jahre 1449 wird berichtet, dass die Verteidiger um die Familie Fulach sich an langen Seilen über den Felssporn in den Rhein herunterliessen und schwimmend am anderen Ufer das Weite suchten. Ein einziger Bewohner blieb zurück, da er die tosenden Fluten des Rheins als die noch grössere Gefahr erachtete und liess die Belagerer ins Schloss. Bereits ein Jahr später gelang es jedoch Kämpfern der Familie Fulach die Burg zurückzuerobern. In diplomatischer Voraussicht gaben sie ihr Schaffhauser Bürgerrecht auf und beantragten dasjenige von Zürich.

    Besitz der Stadt Zürich

    Trotz Bemühungen der Stadt Schaffhausen, mit dem Erwerb der Burg Laufen auf dem linken Rheinufer Fuss zu fassen, verkaufte Hans Wilhelm von Fulach den Besitz mit den umliegenden Vogteien Uhwiesen und Dachsen 1544 schliesslich an die Stadt Zürich. Damit erreichte Zürich eine willkommene Gebietserweiterung gegen Norden und liess die bedeutende Erwerbschaft kurz darauf in einen wohnlichen Sitz für ihren Obervogt umbauen. Dieser bauliche Zustand blieb nahezu drei Jahrhunderte unverändert und die damals erstellte Ringmauer mit ihrem markanten viereckigen Torturm ist heute noch grösstenteils erhalten. Die Herrschaft der Stadt über das Land mittels der Vogteien war gefestigt und zeitigte noch bis Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts feudalistische Züge. Mit dem Einmarsch Napoleons 1798 nahm dies ein jähes Ende. Die Vogteien wurden abgeschafft und das Schloss blieb, wie viele andere Burgen, über mehrere Jahre unbewohnt. Erst ab 1804 liessen sich verschiedene Pächter in der Burg nieder. Einer von ihnen war der Landschaftsmaler Ludwig Bleuer, welcher 1833 seine Malerschule ins Schloss verlegte und beabsichtigte, ein grosses Werk über den Rhein zu schaffen. 1845 konnte er das Schloss käuflich erwerben. Rund 100 Jahre später, 1941, übernahm der Kanton Zürich das Schloss von seinen Nachfahren. Als Nutzung wurde eine Jugendherberge eingerichtet, welche 1946 feierlich eröffnet wurde.

Aktuelle Specials

Mitgliedervorteile

  • Übernachtung zum Mitgliederpreis
  • Netzwerk von 51 Schweizer Jugendherbergen
  • Partnerrabatte und viele weitere Vorteile
  • Mit einer Mitgliedschaft bei den Schweizer Jugendherbergen profitieren Sie von weiteren Vorteilen

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen