Brugg
Aargau

Brugg

Travel time?

Departure

Filter Hostels

In Altenburg Castle in Brugg, you can literally feel the historic flair of the Roman fort and the subsequent Habsburg knights' room.

Brugg

Aargau

You're sure to love the place where Romans and Habsburgs once lived. It's not just Brugg's surroundings that bear witness to an incredible past – as you'll see on tours of the nearby Vindonissa park, the amphitheatre and Habsburg Castle. Indeed, you'll be spending the night in a historically significant spot within the venerable walls of our youth hostel! You'll discover more regional attractions on the bridge walk across the area where the Aare, Reuss and Limmat rivers converge, or on bicycle tours through the vineyards. The historic old town or the large garden in front of the hostel are the best places to enjoy a few lazy hours.

  • Brugg Youth Hostel
    Im Hof 11
    5200 Brugg
    Switzerland

By train:

By train from Zurich in 20, from Basel in 50 and from Aarau in 20 minutes. 20 minutes' walk from Brugg railway station.

By car:

Parking spaces are available in the car park for the indoor and outdoor swimming pools.

Room categories

  • Number of beds
  • Single room
  • Double rooms
  • Family rooms
  • Shared rooms
  • Barrier-free rooms

Infrastructure

Prices & availability

  • Breakfast buffet incl.
    Lunch on request 17.50 CHF
    Dinner 17.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 2–5 years 8.50 CHF
    Dinner for children aged 6–12 years 14.50 CHF
    Packed lunch on request 8.50 CHF
    • No taxes
    • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Children aged 2 to 5 stay for just CHF 15 and children aged 6 to 12 for just CHF 25 per night in the parents’ or grandparents’ room, including breakfast. Babies aged from 0 to 1 stay in a cot, where available, free of charge. Children’s prices do not apply to double rooms.
    • Group rates for children aged 2–5 years, a flat rate of CHF 15.–; from 6–12 years, accommodation prices / group prices apply
    • Voluntary CO2-Compensation CHF 0.30
    • Rates are subject to change
    • All rates in CHF
  • Schloss Altenburg

    Schloss Altenburg

    Near the former Roman legion camp in Vindonissa, at a point where, from the south, the River Aare is forced eastwards into a narrow rocky bed, a small castle was built in the Late Roman period. The origins of its curtain wall – up to seven metres high in places – date back to the 4th century. Later, in the Early Middle Ages, the remains of the small castle are said to have been a bishop’s castle and then even the seat of the early Habsburgs.

    The Romans

    As the first indicators of the origins of the Altenburg, there are finds of earlier origin which were re-used and incorporated during the construction of the walls up to four metres thick. These would all appear to be connected with nearby Vindonissa. For example, an inscribed tablet from the year 260 refers to the reconstruction of the walls at Vindonissa. An even earlier fragment was once part of a horseman’s gravestone dating from the 1st century. In view of the embedded finds, the defensive walls clearly appear to be of Late Roman origin.

    According to the chronicles of Sigmund Fry (1530), the Altenburg was constructed to protect a ferry crossing to the opposite bank of the River Aare. Other theories claimed that the construction of the Altenburg was intended to replace the destroyed Vindonissa. At the beginning of the 19th century, researchers even thought that the Altenburg was a former bridgehead.

    Archaeological excavations have uncovered evidence of four earlier round towers. However, there is a reason to believe that the einceinte had up to ten round towers. It has not been possible to form a clear picture of the inner buildings. The surviving buildings, which have retained and integrated the ancient curtain wall, are all of later origin. It is the tallest Roman stonework still preserved in Switzerland.

    The original Habsburg castle

    The first written reference is to an «Altinburch» or old castle, in 1254. No documentary evidence exists of the early Habsburgs living on the Altenburg at the start of the last millennium, nor of a presumed one-time bishop’s residence. The first connection with the original Habsburg castle was made in the mid-17th century by the chronicler Matthäus Merian. In the late 19th century, Father Martin Kiem from Muri Monastery attributed the documented surname of the early Habsburger «Kanzellin von Altenburg» to the Altenburg near Brugg. Evidence of this might lie in one of
    Altenburg’s two known coats of arms, which depicted a red lion wearing a crown.

    The «Little Castle» The building which is today home to the youth hostel probably dates only from the 16th century. It is known as the «Schlösschen» or Little Castle on account of its tower-house shape and twin crow-stepped gables. On the first two floors, the Roman wall makes up the western side. In 1938, the Pro Vindonissa Society and the Aargau Historical Association acquired the disused buildings and had them converted into a youth hostel. After a delay caused by the war, the «Schlössli Altenburg» was able to open as a youth hostel in 1941.

Current specials

Our member benefits

  • Accommodation at a special price for members
  • Network of more than 50 Swiss Youth Hostels
  • Accommodation/meal vouchers (CHF 100)

Surroundings

Directions

Other hostels

Labels and Awards

Brugg
Aargau

Brugg

Reisezeit?

Abreise

Hostels filtern

Im Schlössli Altenburg in Brugg fühlt man buchstäblich das historische Flair des römischen Kastells und der späteren habsburgischen Ritterstube.

Brugg

Aargau

Wo früher Römer und Habsburger wohnten, wird es auch Ihnen gefallen. Nicht nur die Umgebung von Brugg zeugt von einer abenteuerlichen Vergangenheit - wie einem im nahen Vindonissapark, im Amphitheater und auf dem Schloss Habsburg anschaulich vor Augen geführt wird. Nein, in den ehrwürdigen Mauern unserer Jugendherberge verbringen Sie sogar die Nacht an einem geschichtsträchtigen Ort! Weitere Attraktionen der Region entdecken Sie auf der Brückenwanderung durch das einzigartige "Wasserschloss" (Zusammenfluss von Aare, Reuss und Limmat) oder auf Velotouren durch die Rebenlandschaft. Gemütliche Stunden geniessen Sie am besten in der historischen Altstadt oder im grossen Garten vor dem Hostel.

  • Jugendherberge Brugg
    Im Hof 11
    5200 Brugg
    Schweiz

Mit ÖV / Zu Fuss:

Mit der Bahn von Zürich in 20, von Basel in 50 und von Aarau in 20 Minuten. Vom Bahnhof in 20 Minuten zu Fuss zur Jugendherberge.

Mit dem Auto:

Parkplätze beim Hallen- und Freibad Brugg. In 5 Minuten zu Fuss zur Jugendherberge.

Zimmer Kategorien

  • Anzahl Betten
  • Einzelzimmer
  • Doppelzimmer
  • Familienzimmer
  • Mehrbettzimmer
  • Hindernisfreie Zimmer

Infrastruktur

Preise & Verfügbarkeit

  • Frühstücksbuffet inkl.
    Mittagessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen 17.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 2–5 Jahren 8.50 CHF
    Abendessen Kinder 6–12 Jahren 14.50 CHF
    Lunchpaket auf Anfrage 8.50 CHF
    • Keine Kurtaxen
    • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
    • Kinder bezahlen von 2 bis 5 Jahren nur CHF 15.— und von 6 bis 12 Jahren nur CHF 25.— pro Nacht im Zimmer der Eltern/Grosseltern, inklusive Frühstück. Babys von 0 bis 1 übernachten im Babybett, wo verfügbar, gratis. Kinderpreise gelten nicht im Doppelzimmer.
    • Gruppenpreise Kinder von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren gelten Bettenpreise/Gruppenpreise
    • Freiwillige CO2-Kompensation CHF 0.30 
    • Preisänderungen vorbehalten
    • Verrechnung aller Preise in CHF
  • Schloss Altenburg

    Nahe dem ehemaligen römischen Legionslager in Vindonissa, wo die Aare von Süden her in einem engen felsigen Bett gegen Osten abgedrängt wird, entstand in spätrömischer Zeit ein kleines Kastell. Der Ursprung seiner teilweise über sieben Meter hohen Ringmauer reicht ins 4. Jahrhundert zurück. Später, im Frühmittelalter, sollen die Überreste des Kleinkastells Bischofsburg und anschliessend gar Sitz der Frühhabsburger gewesen sein.

    Die Römer

    Als erste Quellenbezüge zur Altenburg gelten Funde noch früherer Herkunft, welche zum Bau der bis zu vier Meter dicken Mauern wiederverwendet wurden. Diese scheinen alle mit dem nahen Vindonissa in Zusammenhang zu stehen. So erzählt ein Inschriftstein aus dem Jahre 260 vom Wiederaufbau der Mauern Vindonissas, und ein noch älteres Fragment war ursprünglich Teil eines Reitergrabsteins aus dem 1. Jahrhundert. Die Befestigungsmauern scheinen aufgrund der eingelassenen Funde eindeutig spätrömischen Ursprungs zu sein.

    Gemäss Überlieferungen von Sigmund Fry 1530 wurde die Altenburg zum Schutz einer Fährverbindung ans gegenüberliegende Aareufer errichtet. Weitere Theorien besagen, dass die Altenburg als Nachfolge des zerstörten Vindonissa errichtet worden sei und Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts betrachteten Forscher die Altenburg gar als ehemaligen Brückenkopf.

    Durch archäologische Grabungen sind vier ehemalige Rundtürme belegt. Es darf aber vermutet werden, dass die Anlage bis zu zehn Rundtürme besass. Über die Innenbauten lässt sich kein klares Bild gewinnen. Die heute noch bestehenden Bauten, in welche die antike Ringmauer integriert wurde, sind alle späteren Ursprungs. Es handelt sich dabei um das höchste noch erhaltene römische Mauerwerk in der Schweiz.

    Urburg der Habsburger

    Als erste schriftliche Erwähnung taucht die «Altinburch» erstmals 1254 auf. Dass die Frühhabsburger um die Jahrtausendwende auf der Altenburg hausten, lässt sich genauso wenig belegen wie ein vermuteter früherer Bischofssitz. Der erste Hinweis auf das Urschloss der Habsburger findet sich Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts vom Chronisten Matthäus Merian. Im späten 19. Jahrhundert bezog Pater Martin Kiem vom Kloster Muri den belegten Zunamen des Frühhabsburgers «Kanzellin von Altenburg» auf die Altenburg bei Brugg. Als Indiz könnte eines der beiden bekannten Ortswappen der Altenburg dienen, welches einen roten, gekrönten Löwen darstellte.

    Das «Schlösschen» Das wegen seiner wohnturmartigen Form und den zwei Treppengiebeln «Schlösschen» genannte Gebäude, in welchem heute die Jugendherberge untergebracht ist, stammt vermutlich erst aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. In den ersten beiden Geschossen bildet die römische Mauer gegen Westen den Abschluss. 1938 kauften die Gesellschaft «Pro Vindonissa» und die Aargauische Historische Gesellschaft die unbenutzten Liegenschaften und liessen sie als Jugendherberge umbauen. Nach kriegsbedingten Verzögerungen konnte das «Schlössli Altenburg» 1941 als Jugendherberge eröffnet werden.

Aktuelle Specials

Unsere Mitgliedervorteile

  • Übernachtung zum Mitgliederpreis
  • Netzwerk von über 50 Schweizer Jugendherbergen
  • Übernachtungs-/Essensgutscheine (CHF 100.-)

Umgebung

Wegbeschreibung

Weitere Hostels

Labels und Auszeichnungen