Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 08 December. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Valbella Youth Hostel

Voa Sartons 41
7077 Valbella (GR)

Top Eu-label Hiq Minergie Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge Swiss_solar Geeignet_v02 Free_house_wifi_v02 Swiss_family

Phone: +41 81 384 12 08
Fax: +41 81 384 45 58
valbella@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/valbella

youthhostel.valbella

Book online

History - Alpine architecture

Alpine architecture 1932 saw the opening of the Valbella Youth Hostel – the first purpose-built youth hostel in Switzerland. The work of Chur architect J. Keller, it featured a contemporary design. Walls faced with rough stone typified the whole simple, almost archaic construction. In fact, the hostel was built partly with volunteer labour. The result was a modern, yet specifically Alpine, architecture comparable with buildings of that period by Rudolf Gaberel and, especially, Hans Leuzinger.

Even in those days, two windows above a corner seat in the dayroom perfectly framed the magnificent view down into the valley. In 1943, the first addition, at the front of the building, made more of this feature and opened out the view from the ground floor. In 1972, a second, much larger annex opened, adding a new set of rooms at right angles to the original building. A hipped roof combined the two parts into a compact whole.

Old and new in one hostel

By 2006, refurbishment was again unavoidable. The standard no longer
met contemporary expectations of a youth hostel. After thorough examination of a range of options, the Chur-based architectural practice of Bosch & Heim came up with a surprise. Their proposal was actually to keep the dull architecture of the 1970s wing, still prefectly usable, but to demolish and replace the rest. This retained the building’s exceptionally attractive position and highlighted the best of its original qualities. The oldest parts of the building, whose simple fabric would have been incompatible with modern demands without radical alteration, were demolished. A new, longer and taller wing then rose on the same spot, recreating a tower-like aspect. This adapted the entire scale of the building to the different, perhaps less diffuse background culture of the present day. This serves to re-emphasise the hostel’s special significance as a semi-public building. Most important, the hostel has a «head» again which, like the 1932 building, looks down into the valley below.

The success of this rebuilding lies not in juxtaposing old and new, but in merging them into a unity. The two-tone grey render seems at first at odds with this concept, apparently juxtaposing old and new on the approach side. However, the shades are very similar. Only close scrutiny reveals that the difference is not purely attributable to the changing angle of incidence of the light.

Committed to modernity

The entire building stands out for its economy, not only in the financial
resources invested in it, but above all in the few, yet ingenious architectural features employed. This economy connects it with its first predecessor, whose character lives on, although none of its fabric survives and there is no explicit allusion to its formal elements. And it aligns the new building with traditional Alpine architecture, whose rationality, functionality and sensitivity to location were already admired in those early days of modern architecture. The converted and re-built facility is the first in the Swiss Youth Hostel network to be constructed in accordance with the Minergie-Eco building standard.

Valbella Youth Hostel today

Valbella Youth Hostel today

The first building from 1932

The first building from 1932

View from the dayroom

View from the dayroom

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 08 décembre. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Valbella

Voa Sartons 41
7077 Valbella (GR)

Top Eu-label Hiq Minergie Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge Swiss_solar Geeignet_v02 Free_house_wifi_v02 Swiss_family

Tél: +41 81 384 12 08
Fax: +41 81 384 45 58
valbella@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/valbella

youthhostel.valbella

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Architecture alpine

L’Auberge de Jeunesse de Valbella a été ouverte en 1932 et fut le premier bâtiment érigé à cette fin en Suisse. Elle a été conçue par l’architecte J. Keller, originaire de Coire, dans le langage architectural de l’époque : de grossiers murs de pierre de parement évoquent une construction simple, voire archaïque, d’autant plus que l’ensemble a été réalisé par des bénévoles. Dans l’esprit des constructions contemporaines de Rudolf Gaberel ou de Hans Leuzinger, c’est une architecture à la fois moderne et spécifiquement alpine qui vit ainsi le jour.

À l’époque déjà, deux grandes fenêtres aménagées au-dessus d’un banc dans la salle de séjour dégageaient une vue grandiose sur la vallée ; mise en espace reprise telle quelle en 1943 lors du premier agrandissement et du réaménagement du rez-de-chaussée. En 1972, une nouvelle aile abritant des chambres est rattachée à angle droit au bâtiment d’origine et reliée à ce dernier par un toit en croupe, formant ainsi un ensemble cohérent.

Une nouvelle ancienne auberge de jeunesse

En 2006, alors que de nouveaux travaux de restauration devenaient indispensables pour répondre aux critères actuels des auberges de jeunesse, les architectes Bosch & Heim étudièrent diverses variantes ; étonnamment, ils choisirent de conserver l’aile construite dans les années 1970, qui n’était pas la plus significative d’un point de vue architectural mais indéniablement plus pratique, et de détruire et remplacer les autres parties. Cette option permettait en particulier de conserver l’orientation avantageuse du bâtiment tout en revalorisant ses qualités originelles. La destruction du premier ouvrage, qui n’aurait pu être remis aux normes actuelles qu’au prix de travaux radicaux, permit de remplacer l’ancienne bâtisse par une nouvelle construction surélevée et allongée, elle aussi semblable à une tour. Ainsi, le bâtiment dans son ensemble fut adapté au paysage culturel, qui s’était entre temps modifié et densifié, pour remettre en valeur sa signification en tant que bâtiment semi-public. Surtout, l’ensemble bénéficiait à nouveau d’une tête clairement orientée vers la vallée, comme son prédécesseur.

La réussite de cette rénovation tient à ce que l’ancien et le nouveau n’ont pas été différenciés, mais plutôt fondus dans une nouvelle entité. Les deux niveaux de gris du crépi semblent contredire cette approche en distinguant clairement les deux ailes du bâtiment. Mais les couleurs sont si étroitement liées qu’il faut vraiment y regarder de près pour se rendre compte que la différence de teinte n’est pas due qu’à l’angle de la lumière.

Ode à la modernité

L’ensemble du bâtiment se distingue par son économie, pas seulement d’un point de vue financier, mais aussi par rapport aux moyens architecturaux mis en œuvre avec parcimonie mais intelligence. Cette vision s’inscrit aussi dans la lignée du bâtiment précédent, dont le caractère est préservé sans qu’il n’en reste pourtant la moindre trace ni la moindre citation formelle. Elle s’inscrit également dans l’architecture alpine traditionnelle dont la rationalité, le pragmatisme et la sensibilité par rapport aux lieux faisaient l’objet d’une grande admiration à l’époque moderne. Cette auberge de jeunesse rénovée et réaménagée est la première du réseau suisse à avoir été conçue selon les critères Minergie.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Valbella aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Valbella aujourd’hui

Le premier bâtiment de 1932

Le premier bâtiment de 1932

Vue de la salle de séjour

Vue de la salle de séjour