Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 30 March. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Sils i.D. Youth Hostel

Oberer Ehrenfelsweg 12
7411 Sils i.D. (GR)

Simple Free_wifi_v02

Book online

History - Ehrenfels Castle

The Domleschg is an ancient important transit region to the Splügen, San Bernardino, Septimer, Julier and Albula passes, as is clearly evidenced by the finds at prehistoric and Roman sites and the large numbers of Medieval castles. On the Carschenna above Ehrenfels Castle, remarkable Bronze Age rock carvings can be seen.

The history of the castle

Very little is known about the history of Ehrenfels Castle. The lords of Ehrenfels are first documented in the year 1257 under the name “C. de Herinvels”. The word “Ehren” originates from Middle High German and simply means lords. Ehrenfels was thus the rock on which the lords lived.

Situated close to the important Hohenrätien Castle, Ehrenfels once formed the centre point of a small manor and was probably owned by the Lords of Sils.

As long ago as the end of the 15th century, the castle came into the possession of Cazis monastery and served as a residence for the administrator of the surrounding estates. Nevertheless, even in the 16th century, the brothers Rudolf and Kaspar von Schauenstein were listed as residents for a time. The transfer of Ehrenfels Castle to Cazis monastery took place around about the same time that the Viamala Gorge was first made accessible to carts (1473). The theory that the other route to the south through the “Schin Gorge” and with it the Ehrenfels Castle at the gateway to the Schin might have lost its importance as a result is less probable. It was more likely a sign of the times. During the 15th and 16th centuries, the power of the feudal lords was on the decline and many noble families became impoverished.

The reconstruction

The Medieval fortifications consisted of a four-storey fortified tower (Bergfried), the residential wing (Palas) and the partially double, battlemented containing walls (Bering). The first access to the castle faced north. Later, accesses were provided via the courtyard to the 1st and 2nd storeys.

Like many other abandoned buildings of this era, Ehrenfels Castle was to some extent used as a source of stone for new houses. Fortunately, a proposed demolition of the solid castle walls at the time of the construction of the Rhaetian Railway ultimately proved too expensive for an entrepreneur. As a result, the massive Bergfried tower had still retained virtually its full height at the time the Swiss Castle Association took over the ruin in the 1930s. The residential wing on the other hand, had been almost completely demolished, apart from a few sections of wall. The intention was to reconstruct the castle as part of a work creation scheme for unemployed young people, headed by the architect Eugen Probst. Here archaeological and historical accuracy was not the first priority. Building shape, material choice and location of the openings were instead based on other examples.

At the end of July 1933, around 25 young people began to clear the heavily overgrown ruin, fell trees and excavate parts of the site. Unfortunately, lack of funds prevented the work from being continued as planned in the following year. It was only as a result of the much-acclaimed reconstruction of Rotberg Castle at Mariastein in the Solothurn Jura mountains, converted into a youth hostel under identical conditions, that the Ehrenfels project gained new confidence and resources. Work was restarted in 1936 and in completed in the following years. In 1954 the castle was taken over by the Youth Hostels Association and has served as a youth hostel since then.

Ehrenfels Youth Castle

Ehrenfels Youth Castle

Great Hall

Great Hall

Ehrenfels after the completion 1940

Ehrenfels after the completion 1940

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 30 mars. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Sils i.D.

Oberer Ehrenfelsweg 12
7411 Sils i.D. (GR)

Simple Free_wifi_v02

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Le château d’Ehrenfels

Le Domleschg est un ancien lieu de passage très fréquenté en direction des cols de Splügen, San Bernardino, Septimer, Julier et Albula, comme en témoignent les vestiges préhistoriques et romains ainsi que la multitude de châteaux forts médiévaux. Au-dessus du château fort d’Ehrenfels, les gravures rupestres de Carschenna, témoins impressionnants de l’Âge du bronze, sont encore visibles aujourd’hui.

L’histoire du château

Les témoignages sur le château d’Ehrenfels sont très rares. Les seigneurs d’Ehrenfels sont mentionnés pour la première fois en 1257 sous le nom de « C. de Herinvels ». Le nom « Ehren » vient du moyen haut allemand et signifie seigneur ; Ehrenfels désigne donc le rocher sur lequel les seigneurs ont élu domicile.

À proximité immédiate de l’important château fort d’Hohenrätien, Ehrenfels constituait à l’origine le centre d’une petite seigneurie et était vraisemblablement aux mains des seigneurs de Sils.

Dès la fin du XVe siècle, le château tomba aux mains de l’abbaye de Cazis et servit de résidence à l’administrateur des terres environnantes. Toutefois, des sources attestent encore au XVIe siècle de la présence temporaire des frères Rudolf et Kaspar von Schauenstein. Le transfert du château d’Ehrenfels à l’abbaye de Cazis coïncide à peu près avec l’époque où les gorges de Viamala devinrent praticables en charrette à partir de 1473. Il est peu probable que l’autre itinéraire vers le sud, qui empruntait les gorges de la Schin et passait devant le château d’Ehrenfels à l’entrée de la gorge, ait perdu en importance à ce moment-là. Il faut plutôt y voir un signe des temps : aux XVe et XVIe siècles, les seigneurs perdirent peu à peu de leur pouvoir et de nombreuses familles nobles s’appauvrirent.

La reconstruction

La forteresse médiévale était constituée d’une tour de défense de quatre étages (Bergfried), d’une partie habitable (Palas) et d’une fortification crénelée, double par endroits (Bering). Le premier accès au château se faisait par le nord. Plus tard, des accès furent aménagés par la cour vers le 1er et le 2e étage.

Comme de nombreux ouvrages de l’époque, une fois abandonné, le château d’Ehrenfels a servi de carrière pour la construction de nouvelles maisons. Par chance, la destruction de la forteresse prévue pour la construction des chemins de fer rhétiques s’avéra trop chère pour l’entreprise en charge des travaux. C’est ainsi que le Bergfried se dressait encore à sa hauteur d’origine lorsque l’Association suisse Châteaux forts racheta la ruine dans les années 1930. Par contre, l’aile résidentielle était complètement détruite, à l’exception de quelques pans de murs. Sous la direction de l’architecte Eugen Probst, on décida de faire reconstruire le château dans le cadre d’un programme de réinsertion de jeunes chômeurs. Cependant, les travaux ne s’attachaient pas en priorité à la précision archéologique du monument ; la forme du bâtiment, les matériaux utilisés et l’orientation des ouvertures s’inspiraient d’autres exemples.

Fin juillet 1933, près de 25 jeunes commencèrent donc à déboiser les ruines envahies par la végétation, à abattre des arbres et à mettre à jour des parties entières de l’ensemble. Hélas, le manque de moyens financiers empêcha de poursuivre les travaux l’année suivante comme cela était prévu. Il fallut attendre la reconstruction du château de Rotberg, à côté de Mariastein dans le Jura de Soleure, rebâti dans les mêmes conditions, pour relancer la confiance et attirer de nouveaux financements pour le projet d’Ehrenfels. Les travaux reprirent en 1936 et furent terminés les années suivantes. L’Association des auberges de jeunesse reprit le château en 1954, date depuis laquelle il sert d’auberge de jeunesse.

Château de jeunesse Ehrenfels

Château de jeunesse Ehrenfels

Salle

Salle d'armes

Ehrenfels après les travaux, en 1940

Ehrenfels après les travaux, en 1940