Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 30 March. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Seelisberg Youth Hostel

Gadenhaus beim Rütli
Rütliweg 8
6377 Seelisberg (UR)

Simple Swiss_lodge

Book online

History - The house at the Rütli

Just a stone’s throw away from the historically important Rütli Meadow where the original confederates swore their oath of allegiance, overnight accommodation of a special kind is available for hikers on the “Swiss Path” hiking trail created to mark the 700th anniversary of the confederation. What is probably the oldest surviving Gadenhaus in the Canton of Uri dating from 1750, today houses a youth hostel with a total of 25 beds and gives an inkling of the cramped conditions in which people lived in those days.

The Gadenhaus

The term “Gadenhaus” is used to describe an old traditional type of farm house in which the stable, feeding barn and living quarters are all combined under a single roof.

The Gadenhaus near the Rütli lies below the commune of Seelisberg on a slope overlooking Lake Lucerne. Although just a few hundred metres from the church as the crow flies, it is not easily accessible from the village. Today the “Swiss Path” created in 1991 leads from the Treib landing stage in the direction of Rütli Meadow, passing directly by the hostel and linking it into this historic context.

Reflecting the steep topography, the more than 17-meter-wide building has a modest depth of only around 6 metres. It is constructed in the traditional wooden log style and protected against rising damp by a quarrystone base. At the time of its construction in the mid-18th century, the Gadenhaus was divided up into four adjoining sections.

The straw barn formed the first section in the south. The room cuts deeply into the slope at this point and lies around half a metre lower than the rest of the building. Accordingly, the solid base was built above ground floor level on all sides. Straw and wood were stored on the upper floor.

The second section consisted of the largest room space in the building. On the ground floor the stable provided two rows of cattle stalls. Above this was the hay loft or so-called “Obergaden”. Thanks to the slope, the hay could be brought indoors directly via an opening on the uphill side and supplied to the stable via a trapdoor.

The third section, the living quarters, was relatively modest. On the ground floor was a living room with a small tiled stove. The room height was barely over 1.80 metres. From there, a steep staircase led to the bedroom above which was heated by the living room.
The final section was the kitchen at the northern end. It had no upper floor and extended up to the already very low roof. In the back, a door led behind the room into the underground storage chamber.

The youth hostel

In cooperation with the cantonal office for the preservation of cultural property, a conversion concept was implemented which placed great emphasis on retaining the existing structures of the old building. Two underground extensions into the slope at each end of the building produced the urgently needed space for washing facilities and a kitchen. At the same time, they are part of a new retaining wall that reinstated the protection on the uphill side. On the ground floor are the day room, wash room and dining room. The sleeping areas are located on the upper floor with a row of mattress areas. For once, sleeping in multi-bed rooms is no relic of bygone days, but in this plain and simple building, there is no other feasible option.

Seelisberg Youth Hostel today

Seelisberg Youth Hostel today

Living room before the conversion

Living room before the conversion

Dining room

Dining room

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 30 mars. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Seelisberg

Gadenhaus beim Rütli
Rütliweg 8
6377 Seelisberg (UR)

Simple Swiss_lodge

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - La maison du Grütli

À deux pas de la mythique prairie du Grütli, l’endroit même où les anciens Confédérés prêtèrent serment, le randonneur découvre sur l’itinéraire de la Voie Suisse, ouverte spécialement à l’occasion du 700e anniversaire de la Confédération, un hébergement d’un style tout particulier. La plus ancienne Gadenhaus du canton d’Uri, datée de 1750, abrite aujourd’hui une auberge de jeunesse de 25 lits et permet de deviner les conditions d’habitation de l’époque.

La Gadenhaus

Une Gadenhaus désigne un type de construction traditionnel pour les fermes qui rassemblaient sous le même toit l’écurie, l’aire de fourrage et le logement.

La Gadenhaus du Grütli est située sous la commune de Seelisberg, sur le versant qui descend vers le lac des Quatre-Cantons. Bien que située à quelques centaines de mètres à peine de l’église à vol d’oiseau, son accès depuis le village reste très limité. Aujourd’hui, la Voie Suisse aménagée en 1991 qui mène de l’embarcadère de Treib vers la prairie du Grütli passe devant la bâtisse et la replace dans son contexte historique.

En raison de la topographie escarpée du lieu, le bâtiment présente sur une largeur de 17 mètres une profondeur d’à peine six mètres. Il est construit dans le style traditionnel des chalets en bois et protégé de l’humidité par une fondation en pierre de taille. Lors de sa création au milieu du XVIIIe siècle, la Gadenhaus était divisée en quatre parties en enfilade.

La première partie au sud constituait l’aire de fourrage. Cette pièce pénètre considérablement dans le terrain à cet endroit et se situe à près de 50 centimètres plus en profondeur que le reste du bâtiment. La fondation massive a donc été surélevée de tous côtés par rapport au rez-de-chaussée. Le grenier situé au-dessus servait à entreposer le foin et le bois.

La deuxième partie constituait le plus grand volume du bâtiment. Au rez-de-chaussée, une étable offrait suffisamment de place pour deux rangées de bêtes. Au-dessus, on stockait le foin dans l’« Obergaden ». L’escarpement du terrain permettait de rentrer le foin directement par une ouverture pratiquée côté versant. Une ouverture aménagée dans le sol permettait alors de le verser dans l’étable.

La partie habitable, qui constituait la troisième partie, était proportionnellement plus modeste. Le rez-de-chaussée accueillait une pièce à vivre avec un petit poêle en faïence. La hauteur de plafond excédait à peine 1,80 mètre. De là, un escalier raide menait à la chambre à coucher qui profitait du chauffage de la pièce principale.
Enfin, la cuisine terminait le bâtiment au nord. Sans étage, elle arrivait donc jusqu’à la toiture déjà assez basse. À l’arrière, une porte menait de la pièce à vivre directement dans l’entrepôt aménagé dans le sol.

L’auberge de jeunesse

Le concept de rénovation, qui visait à conserver la structure existante de l’ancien bâtiment, a été réalisé avec la participation de l’office cantonal de préservation des monuments. Deux extensions souterraines situées chacune à une extrémité du bâtiment en direction du versant servirent d’un côté à gagner la cuisine et la salle de lavage, impératives. D’un autre côté, elles sont intégrées à un nouveau mur d’appui côté versant qui renforce la sécurité du bâtiment. Le rez-de-chaussée accueille la salle de séjour, le cabinet de toilette et la salle à manger. À l’étage, les chambres sont constituées de rangées de matelas. Passer une nuit en dortoir dans ce bâtiment n’est pas un vestige du temps passé, mais simplement une nécessité au vu de la configuration du lieu.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Seelisberg aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Seelisberg aujourd’hui

Wohnstube vor dem Umbau

Essraum