Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Richterswil Youth Hostel

Horn
Hornstrasse 5
8805 Richterswil (ZH)

Classic Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Geeignet_v02 Free_wifi_v02

Book online

History - Industry with a lakeside view

In many places in Switzerland, the dependence on water energy and the still comparatively low prices of building land have resulted in the paradox that some of the first factories were erected in prime locations that not many of those working inside could possibly have afforded for their own homes. The flat estuaries of rivers or streams into the lakes made it easier to build business premises and provided space for subsequent extensions.

Wine, silk and rubber

In 1841, wine merchant Johann Jakob Blattmann had a feudal mansion built in the classical style together with an adjoining winery on the Richterswil Horn.

His early death in 1848 forced his surviving descendants to sell the property just a few years later. The successful bidder, Johann Konrad Egli from Küs-nacht, installed looms for the production silk in the cellars. With a working day of twelve hours at that time, the poorly-illuminated cellar wing was unsuitable for long-term use however. In 1855, Johann Konrad Egli had a new building constructed in its place which due to its roof shape, similar proportions and classical exterior identical to the residential building gave the unmistakable impression of a set of buildings that belonged together.

In the second half of the 19th century, the Swiss silk industry increasingly gathered momentum. At that time, the Egli silk factory employed more than 80 factory workers and up to 500 employees working at home. Nevertheless, its success was short-lived. With Johann Konrad Egli’s death in 1862, his successors lacked the financial resources to continue the business.

The subsequent companies were unable to escape this destiny either. From 1868, the subsequent “Mechanische Seidenstofffärberei Zürich” silk dyeing works rented the premises, followed from 1900 by the Wädenswiler Seidenstoffweberei Gessner silk weaving factory. Silk production finally came to an end during the interwar depression. For two years the premises housed the neighbouring calico printing works. This was followed from1929 by the production of rubberised cloth. It was only in 1976, with the acquisition of the tongue of land by the Canton of Zurich for recreational purposes that peace at last seemed to come to the Horn area.

It was all worth it in the end...

On completion of the purchase, the Canton immediately had a usage concept drawn up for the area. In addition to residential accommodation, a boat shed, restaurant and multi-story car park, it also provided for a youth hostel. Sadly the all too numerous interests and the unresolved financing of the area prevented a quick realisation. When ten years later, with the demolition of the factory building that had been envisaged for the youth hostel, the idea of a youth hostel at the Horn seemed buried forever. Almost at the last moment, the youth hostel once again became a political issue. At the end of 1988, the canton unanimously approved the building finance and the youth hostel opened its doors on 04 July 1992.

Richterswil Youth Hostel today

Richterswil Youth Hostel today

Factory building before the conversion

Factory building before the conversion

Dining hall with the original support pillars

Dining hall with the original support pillars

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Auberge de Jeunesse Richterswil

Horn
Hornstrasse 5
8805 Richterswil (ZH)

Classic Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Geeignet_v02 Free_wifi_v02

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Industrie avec vue sur le lac

Dans de nombreux sites de Suisse, la dépendance à l’énergie hydraulique et le prix encore relativement faible des terrains constructibles ont fait que paradoxalement, nombre des premières usines furent édifiées sur des sites de premier ordre sur lesquels très peu des gens qui y travaillaient auraient pu se permettre d’habiter. Les plaines des embouchures des fleuves ou des rivières offraient les conditions idéales à la construction d’usines et présentaient en outre l’espace nécessaire pour des extensions ultérieures.

Du vin, de la soie et du caoutchouc

En 1841, le négociant en vins Johann Jakob Blattmann fit ériger sur le « Horn » de Richterswil une somptueuse résidence de style classique avec cave attenante.

En 1848, sa mort précoce contraint ses héritiers à revendre le bâtiment après quelques années. Originaire de Küsnacht, Johann Konrad Egli gagne la mise et installe des métiers à tisser dans le bâtiment de la cave afin de fabriquer de la soie. Avec une journée de travail de douze heures à l’époque, cette cave mal éclairée se révéla rapidement insuffisante. Johann Konrad Egli la fit donc remplacer en 1855 par un nouveau bâtiment qui se rapprochait du bâtiment principal par la forme de son toit, ses proportions similaires et son apparence de style classique, constituant ainsi un ensemble architectural cohérent.

Dans la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle, l’industrie de la soie connut en Suisse un essor constant. Plus de 80 ouvriers et 500 artisans travaillaient à l’époque pour l’usine de soie Egli. Mais ce succès ne dura pas longtemps. Après la mort de Johann Konrad Egli en 1862, se successeurs ne purent poursuivre l’entreprise faute de moyens financiers.

Les sociétés qui lui succédèrent connurent le même destin. À partir de 1868, l’entreprise de teinture de soie « Mechanische Seidenstofffärberei Zürich » loua les bâtiments et y fut suivie à partir de 1900 par la société de tissage Gessner. La production de soie prit fin pendant la crise de l’entre-deux-guerres. Deux années durant, le domaine abrita l’entreprise d’impression sur toile voisine, avant que ne suive en 1929 la production de tissus gommés.

Tout vient à point...

Dès son acquisition, le canton mit en place un concept d’occupation du terrain qui prévoyait déjà, outre des habitations, un hangar à bateaux, un restaurant avec parking et une auberge de jeunesse. Mais les intérêts trop nombreux et les incertitudes quant au financement de l’ensemble ne firent que ralentir sa réalisation. Dix ans plus tard, la destruction du bâtiment prévu pour l’auberge de jeunesse sembla mettre une fin définitive au projet d’auberge sur le Horn. C’est au dernier moment que le sujet fut remis sur le tapis au niveau politique. Fin 1988, le canton accorda le budget à l’unanimité et l’auberge de jeunesse ouvrit ses portes le 04 Juillet 1992.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Richterswil aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Richterswil aujourd’hui

Le bâtiment de l’usine avant transformation

Le bâtiment de l’usine avant transformation

La salle à manger avec les piliers d’origine

La salle à manger avec les piliers d’origine