Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Leissigen Youth Hostel

"Albert Wander Haus"
Oberfeldweg 9
3706 Leissigen (BE)

Classic Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge

Phone: +41 33 847 12 14
Fax: +41 33 847 14 97
leissigen@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/leissigen

youthhostel.leissigen

Book online

History - The Albert Wander House

Leissigen Youth Hostel owes its existence to the remarkable social personnel policy of the Wander company as well as to the generosity of the founding family. The building was once the holiday home of company founder Dr. Albert Wander who sweetened the childhood of entire generations in many countries since 1904 with his Ovomaltine. In 1952, following the deaths of the founding couple, their descendants gave the “La Nichée” property on Lake Thun, together with most of its furnishings, to the company’s pension fund with the aim of making it available to Wander employees as a holiday home. Since 1992, the Youth Hostels Association has looked after the hostel.

Ovomaltine

In 1863, a young academic by the name of Georg Wander from Osthofen near Worms was appointed to the then Institute for Chemistry and Pharmacy at the University of Bern. He quickly felt at home in Bern and, in addition to his duties as an assistant, devoted himself to malt which at that time attracted a great deal of attention as a nutritious and easily digestible food. He soon became so absorbed in his own research that within two years he gave up his university post. From then on he earned an income as a producer of mineral water and supplier of chemical analyses of all kinds, devoting himself first and foremost, of course, to malt. Soon Georg Wander offered malt in the form of a bitter tasting syrup that was given as a tonic especially to new mothers and infants.

In the mid-1890s, Georg Wander became so ill that he was forced to hand over his business to his son Albert who continued with the malt research on his father’s behalf. Continued development of the vacuum-drying process finally made it possible to produce malt in powder form. This meant the great breakthrough for the family company. Just one year later, Ovomaltine was launched.

Company social policy

Alongside an expansion of the malt product, a laboratory was built and in due course followed a pharmaceutical department that was soon also able to launch successful products. In 1963, the company operated in 93 countries and employed a workforce of around 6,000. In the 1960s, no less than eight persons were occupied almost exclusively with social tasks for the benefit of the employees. It was thus only natural that after the deaths of the founding couple, their heirs bequeathed the family property on Lake Thun to the company pension fund in 1952 with the aim of turning it into a holiday home for the employees.

The “La Nichée” residence

A total of three buildings are arranged at different levels in the extensive grounds. At the very top is the house for the staff, on the lakeside the spacious boathouse and between them the chalet-style main house from where a wonderful view over Lake Thun to the Niesen mountain rising on the opposite shore can be enjoyed.

The end of the 1980s saw a gradual decline in interest in holidays at home with the result that the running was transferred to the Youth Hostels Association in 1992. Since 2001, the properties have been owned by the Swiss Foundation for Social Tourism.

Leissigen Youth Hostel today

Leissigen Youth Hostel today

Earliest export label for Ovomaltine

Earliest export label for Ovomaltine

Bedroom Dr. Albert Wander

Bedroom Dr. Albert Wander

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 27 avril. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Leissigen

Albert Wander Haus
Oberfeldweg 9
3706 Leissigen (BE)

Classic Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge Free_wifi_v02 Swiss_family

Tél: +41 33 847 12 14
Fax: +41 )33 847 14 97
leissigen@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/leissigen

youthhostel.leissigen

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Maison Albert Wander

L’Auberge de Jeunesse de Leissigen doit son existence à la remarquable politique sociale de la société Wander ainsi qu’à la générosité de la famille fondatrice. À l’origine, ce bâtiment servait de résidence d’été à Albert Wander, créateur de l’entreprise qui régale les enfants du monde entier depuis 1904 avec sa fameuse Ovomaltine. Après la mort du couple de fondateurs, ses héritiers offrirent à la caisse de retraite de la société en 1952 la propriété « La Nichée », au bord du lac de Thoune, ainsi qu’une grande partie du mobilier, dans le but d’en faire la résidence de vacances des employés de la société Wander. L’Association des auberges de jeunesse a repris le bien en 1992.

Ovomaltine

En 1863, un jeune académicien du nom de Georg Wander, originaire d’Osthofen près de Worms, est nommé à l’institut de chimie et de pharmacie de l’université de Berne. Rapidement, outre ses travaux d’assistant, le Bernois d’adoption commence à s’intéresser au malt, qui suscite à l’époque un grand intérêt en raison de ses propriétés nutritives et de sa bonne digestibilité. Il est tellement pris par ses recherches que deux ans plus tard, il renonce déjà à son poste d’universitaire. Il gagne alors sa vie comme producteur d’eau minérale et chimiste dans divers domaines, et se consacre évidemment en premier lieu au malt. Rapidement, Georg Wander vend du malt sous forme d’un sirop au goût amer administré comme fortifiant principalement aux femmes en couche et aux nourrissons.

Au milieu des années 1890, Georg Wander tombe gravement malade et doit céder son entreprise à son fils Albert, qui poursuit les recherches de son père sur le malt. Le développement d’un procédé de déshydratation sous vide lui permet de proposer le malt sous forme d’une poudre, ce qui vaut à l’entreprise familiale de s’imposer sur le marché. Un an plus tard, l’Ovomaltine est commercialisée.

Politique sociale de l’entreprise

Outre le développement de produits à base de malt, l’entreprise crée également un laboratoire puis dans la lancée un département pharmaceutique dont les produits remportent eux aussi un grand succès. En 1963, l’entreprise est active dans 93 pays et emploie près de 6 000 personnes. Dans les années 1960, huit personnes travaillent exclusivement aux œuvres sociales en faveur du personnel. Après le décès du couple de fondateurs en 1952, les héritiers lèguent donc la propriété familiale du lac de Thoune à la caisse de retraite de l’entreprise afin d’en faire un centre de vacances pour les employés.

La résidence « La Nichée »

Le vaste terrain situé à flanc de montagne accueille trois bâtiments situés l’un au-dessus de l’autre. En haut, la maison destinée au personnel ; sur la rive du lac, le grand hangar à bateaux et au milieu, le chalet qui constitue le bâtiment principal, avec une vue splendide sur le lac de Thoune et sur le Niesen qui se dresse sur la rive opposée.

À la fin des années 1980, les vacances en foyer suscitent de moins en moins d’intérêt et l’établissement est alors cédé en 1992 à l’Association des auberges de jeunesse. Le domaine est depuis 2001 aux mains de la Fondation suisse pour le tourisme social.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Leissigen aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Leissigen aujourd’hui

Première étiquette d’exportation pour l’Ovomaltine

Première étiquette d’exportation pour l’Ovomaltine

Chambre du docteur Albert Wander

Chambre du docteur Albert Wander