Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 18 Dec 2014. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Geissstutzstrasse 12
3818 Grindelwald (BE)

Top Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Swiss_solar

Phone: +41 33 853 10 09
Fax: +41 33 853 50 29
grindelwald@youthhostel.ch
youthhostel.ch/grindelwald

youthhostel.grindelwald

Book online

History - The forest youth hostel

Since its completion at the beginning of the 20th century, the chalet building located in woodland above Grindelwald has offered its guests an exceptional view across the village and towards the Eiger North Face.

After the building had been acquired by the Youth Hostels Association in 1939, the number of guests gradually grew.

The holiday chalet

In 1904, Gustav A. Hasler, founder of the Hasler Werke in Bern, had the building constructed by an English architect as an apparently romanticised holiday chalet. So the fact that references have been made to the English country house style and the attributes of the hotel architecture of the day are not entirely coincidental. Instead of the simple flight of steps typical of chalet construction that were commonly placed in front of the building, a feudal staircase in the building leads from the upper floors to a spacious open lobby. This is situated in the middle of the building, dividing it into two equal halves.

The youth hostel

In the 1950s, European tourism experienced a period of tremendous growth. The lower and middle-income groups discovered the attraction of foreign holidays and inexpensive accommodation was in great demand. An expansion of the space available in Grindelwald Youth Hostel became a matter of urgency; although the chalet’s self-contained construction type did not really lend itself to extensions. During a first phase, space potential was spotted in the outdoor wash house which was converted into the first family room in 1957.
Nevertheless, the building’s appearance already underwent its first major change between 1962 and 1965 with a massive ground floor extension to the west-facing main facade.

When a comprehensive refurbishment was on the agenda in the early 1990s, the aim was to reduce the numbers of beds in the cramped rooms. An extension to the existing building was out of the question. The decision was taken to construct a separate new building alongside the original chalet building.

The new building

In 1996, a total of 18 new double rooms and rooms with four beds were created in a three-story building. With its consistent simplicity and spatial clarity, the new building is visually subordinate to the main building. The allocation of space into guestrooms with a view down the valley, a continuous corridor and ancillary rooms with stairs and wet cells looking up the valley is implemented in the same way over all the floors. At the same time as the construction of the new building, alterations were undertaken to relieve the chalet of some of its inherited problems and the overfilled multi-bed rooms reduced to rooms with two to six beds.

Grindelwald Youth Hostel today

Grindelwald Youth Hostel today

Old building 1961

Old building 1961

New building 1996

New building 1996

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 22 décembre. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Grindelwald

Geissstutzstrasse 12
3818 Grindelwald (BE)

Top Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Swiss_solar Free_house_wifi_v02 Swiss_family

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - L’auberge de forêt

Depuis sa construction au début du XXe siècle en plein cœur de la forêt, au-dessus de Grindelwald, ce chalet de type traditionnel offre à ses hôtes une vue imprenable sur le village en direction de la face nord de l’Eiger.
Après l’acquisition du bâtiment en 1939 par l’Association des auberges de jeunesse, le nombre de visiteurs ne cessa de croître.

Le chalet de vacances

En 1904, le fondateur de l’usine Hasler de Berne Gustav A. Hasler fit construire ce chalet de vacances par un architecte anglais dans un style ouvertement bucolique. Ce n’est donc pas un hasard si l’on y retrouve à la fois des références à la maison de vacances anglaise typique ainsi qu’à l’architecture hôtelière de l’époque. Au lieu des escaliers caractéristiques des chalets, généralement situés en extérieur sur la façade des bâtiments, c’est ici un majestueux escalier qui mène des étages supérieurs jusque dans le généreux hall d’entrée ouvert. Ce dernier est situé au centre du bâtiment et divise le rez-de-chaussée en deux parties égales.

L’auberge de jeunesse

Dans les années 1950, le tourisme européen connut un essor sans précédent. Les classes inférieures et moyennes découvraient les vacances à l’étranger et recherchaient des hébergements bon marché. Il devint donc impératif d’augmenter la capacité d’accueil de l’auberge de jeunesse de Grindelwald, bien que l’architecture fermée du chalet ne permette à vrai dire aucune extension. Dans une première phase, on se tourna donc vers le petit lavoir indépendant qui fut transformé en 1957 en chambre familiale, la première du genre.

Entre 1962 et 1965, le bâtiment fut ensuite considérablement modifié par l’ajout sur sa façade principale, en rez-de-chaussée, d’une avancée massive orientée vers l’ouest.

Au début des années 1990, à la veille d’importants travaux de rénovation, il fut décidé de réduire le nombre de lits dans les chambres exiguës. Il était hors de question d’agrandir encore le bâtiment existant, et l’on opta donc pour la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment indépendant à côté du chalet d’origine.

Le nouveau bâtiment

Depuis 1996, un nouveau bâtiment abrite donc sur trois étages 18 chambres doubles et chambres de quatre. D’une grande simplicité et dotée de beaux volumes, cette nouvelle bâtisse s’accorde parfaitement au bâtiment principal. La répartition des pièces est identique à tous les étages, avec les chambres donnant sur la vallée et un long couloir traversant ainsi que les pièces annexes et les salles d’eau côté versant. Dans le même temps, le chalet connut quelques transformations visant à le délester et ses chambres à plusieurs lits, surchargées, furent transformées en chambres de deux à six lits.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Grindelwald aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Grindelwald aujourd’hui

L’ancien bâtiment en 1961

L’ancien bâtiment en 1961

Le nouveau bâtiment de 1996

Le nouveau bâtiment de 1996