Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 9 Mar 2018. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Fällanden Youth Hostel

Im Rohrbuck
Maurstrasse 33
8117 Fällanden (ZH)

Simple Swiss_solar Free_wifi_v02

Book online

Geschichte - Swiss architectural history alongside Lake Greifensee

The youth associations in the city of Zurich had long nurtured the dream of having a hostel in the country. Organised in the Zurich Youth Hostels Association, the idea gradually evolved into tangible form and the search for a suitable piece of land began.

The preferred location on Lake Zurich would have exceeded the financial resources of the time by a wide margin however, with the result that nearby Lake Greifensee was chosen instead.

Emil Roth

Zurich architect Emil Roth was entrusted with the planning. Born in Bari in 1893 as the son of an expatriate Swiss, his family returned to Switzerland where he completed part of his schooling alongside Lake Constance and studied architecture at the ETH Zurich from 1911. A serious lung disease contracted after beginning his active military service forced him to break off his education. Once Emil Roth was healed and able to leave the sanatorium world, he worked as an assistant in a wide number of building trades and it was not until 1922 that he recommenced working as a trainee planner in a Basel architectural practice.

He was co-founder of the important avant-garde magazine “ABC” and its first editorial employee. As a result, he soon also gained an international reputation. This is also the time of the collaboration in El Lissitzky’s project of the “Wolkenbügel”, one of the most important contributions of the Russian constructivist architecture. In addition, he planned – in cooperation with the architects Hubacher & Steiger, Artaria & Schmidt and Häfeli – the Werkbund housing estate “Neubühl“ in Zurich, which is probably the most important housing estate of the classical modernism in Switzerland in the form that manifested itself in Germany with Bauhaus during the interwar period.

The building

The programmatic objectives of modernism, such as simplicity and functionality were tailor-made for the task of designing a youth hostel. Roth manifested them through uncompromising rejection of all decorative elements. Here, the materialisation in wood and the traditional post-and-beam construction created an interesting thematic link to Switzerland and its craft professions.

Realisation of the project started out on a somewhat uncertain footing. It was only possible to meet the construction budget at the time of CHF 70,000.- thanks to support from the City of Zurich, the Canton, private donations and many hours of voluntary work on the part of young people and tradesmen.

On 6 June 1937, Fällanden Youth Hostel was officially opened. Just two years later in 1939, Emil Roth by now seriously ill again, retired from architecture. This means that the youth hostel, alongside the Werkbund’s housing estate Neubühl and the Doldertal houses realised in collaboration with his cousin Alfred Roth, is regarded as one of his main works and also the only one realised completely on his own. The youth hostel is today protected as a historic monument by the cantonal and federal authorities.

The youth hostel was designed to accommodate 70 persons. This meant that it soon found itself among the smaller youth hostels and was often heavily overbooked due to its outstanding location. Nevertheless, comfort was a long time coming. Hot water was only installed in the showers in the course of restoration work in the 1970’s. In 1981 a part of the building was burnt out and within 4 months it was rebuilt to a better standard.

Fällanden Youth Hostel today

Fällanden Youth Hostel today

Fällanden Youth Hostel on Lake Greifensee 1937

Fällanden Youth Hostel on Lake Greifensee 1937

Kitchen with the first cooker

Kitchen with the first cooker

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 9 Mar 2018. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Fällanden

Im Rohrbuck
Maurstrasse 33
8117 Fällanden (ZH)

Simple Swiss_solar Free_wifi_v02

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Histoire de l’architecture suisse au bord du lac de Greifensee

Les associations de jeunes de la ville de Zurich mûrissaient depuis longtemps déjà le projet de construire une auberge à la campagne. Organisée en Association des Auberges de jeunesse de Zurich, cette idée prit forme peu à peu et l’on se mit à la recherche d’un terrain approprié.

D’abord plébiscités, les abords du lac de Zurich auraient amplement dépassé les moyens financiers disponibles. On se tourna donc vers le lac de Greifensee tout proche.

Emil Roth

La planification du projet fut confiée à l’architecte zurichois Emil Roth. Né à Bari en 1893 de parents expatriés, Emil Roth revint en Suisse avec sa famille pour suivre une partie de sa scolarité au bord du lac de Constance et étudia l’architecture à partir de 1911 à l’école polytechnique fédérale de Zurich. Une lourde infection pulmonaire contractée après son entrée au service militaire le força à interrompre ses études. Une fois guéri après un séjour en sanatorium, Emil Roth travailla comme commis dans divers métiers du bâtiment et entra en 1922 comme stagiaire dans un bureau d’architectes de Bâle.

Cofondateur du magazine d’avant-garde « ABC », il fut aussi son premier rédacteur et se fit rapidement un nom à l’échelle internationale. C’est à la même époque qu’il participa au projet du « repasse-nuages » d’El Lissitzky, contribution essentielle au constructivisme russe. D’autre part, Emil Roth conçut en collaboration avec les architectes Hubacher & Steiger, Artaria & Schmidt et Häfeli le lotissement de « Neubühl » à Zurich, ensemble architectural majeur du moderne classique en Suisse, fortement représenté en Allemagne par le Bauhaus pendant l’entre-deux-guerres.

Le bâtiment

Les objectifs directeurs du moderne, à savoir la simplicité et la fonctionnalité, ne pouvaient pas mieux correspondre aux critères de construction d’une auberge de jeunesse. Chez Roth, ces objectifs se manifestaient par un refus sans compromis de tout élément décoratif. L’utilisation du bois et la construction traditionnelle en treillis établissaient également un lien thématique à la Suisse et à son artisanat.

À ses débuts, le projet était toutefois plutôt incertain. Le budget de l’époque, de CHF 70’000.–, ne put être couvert que grâce à la participation de la ville de Zurich, du canton, de donateurs privés et de nombreuses heures de corvée de la part des jeunes et des artisans.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Fällanden fut officiellement inaugurée le 6 juin 1937. En 1939, à nouveau gravement malade, Emil Roth abandonnait l’architecture. Outre le lotissement de Neubühl et les maisons de la vallée du Dolder, conçues en collaboration avec son cousin Alfred Roth, l’auberge de jeunesse reste donc un de ses principaux ouvrages et le seul qu’il ait entièrement réalisé seul. Le bâtiment est aujourd’hui sous la protection cantonale et fédérale de la conservation des monuments.

L’auberge de jeunesse a été conçue pour 7 personnes. Rapidement classée parmi les plus petites du pays, elle était souvent complète en raison de sa situation exceptionnelle et le confort y fut longtemps négligé. Les douches durent ainsi attendre les travaux de restauration réalisés dans les années 1970 avant d’avoir l’eau chaude. En 1981, un incendie dévasta une partie du bâtiment, qui fut reconstruit et amélioré dans les 4 mois suivants.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Fällanden aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Fällanden aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse du lac de Greifensee en 1937

L’auberge de jeunesse du lac de Greifensee en 1937

Cuisine avec la première cuisinière

Cuisine avec la première cuisinière