Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Mariastein Youth Hostel

Burg Rotberg
4115 Mariastein (SO)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Free_wifi_v02

Book online

History - Rotberg Castle

Rotberg Youth Hostel near Mariastein and Ehrenfels Castle above Sils in the Domleschg region are the two so-called Swiss "Youth Castles". During the 1930s, voluntary work programmes for unemployed young people were organised under the supervision of the architect Eugen Probst on the line of similar projects in Germany and France. The primary concern of the restoration work was not the preservation of the historic building fabric, but rather to prevent the ruin from further disintegration and to provide young people with a castle suitable for working in and staying overnight.

The northern Jura plateau region features one of the densest concentrations of castles in Switzerland, with more than a dozen notable castles and castle ruins. Rotberg Castle did not play a particularly important role, nor was it of exceptional interest in terms of architectural history. Speculation that Rotberg Castle may have been the legendary Robur fortress of Emperor Valentinian I intended to provide protection against the Germanic tribes seems implausible. It would appear more probable that the castle was founded at the same time as the majority of Swiss castles, which date back to the12th and 13th centuries.

The building was erected on a rocky outcrop at the foot of the Blauen hill. Space was so limited that special retaining walls had to be built for the road and a small enclosure.

Documentary evidence of the von Rothbergs dates back to the second half of the 13th century, with Johans and Wernher von Rothberg as the first representatives of their family to be mentioned. The von Rothbergs sought to be connected to the ever more influential town of Basel at an early stage and subsequently provided the mayor on several occasions. In 1451, a certain Arnold von Rothberg was even ordained as the Bishop of Basel.

Whether, as early as 1356, Rotberg Castle was destroyed by the great Basel earthquake is not known for certain. However, it is possible that the castle was so severely damaged then that it was never properly repaired and gradually fell into decay.

The castle estate situated at the foot of the castle mound remained in operation, however. In 1918, the "Allgemeine Consumverein beider Basel" (Co-operative Union of Basel) took over this estate and acquired the ruins into the bargain.

The reconstruction

In 1933, the Zurich architect and President of the “Schweizerischer Burgenverein” (Swiss Castle Society), Eugen Probst, proposed rebuilding Rotberg Castle as a so-called “Youth Castle” on the line of examples in Germany and France. To do so, he envisaged the use of unemployed young people in order to offer them an opportunity to gain practical work experience at the same time. The Co-operative Union of Basel supported the venture and had collecting boxes placed in its shops for this purpose.

Some 30 young people began the work in January 1934. Eugen Probst took care of the planning; the Co-operative Union for its part supplied the building management from among its ranks.

The work was finally completed on 27 November 1935 and the youth hostel opened.

Rotberg Castle Youth Hostel today

Rotberg Castle Youth Hostel today

Knights' hall

Knights' hall

Ruin on the farming estate of the Allgemeiner Consumverein

Ruin on the farming estate of the Allgemeiner Consumverein

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Auberge de Jeunesse Mariastein

Burg Rotberg
4115 Mariastein (SO)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge Free_wifi_v02

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Le château Rotberg

L’auberge de jeunesse de Rotberg près de Mariastein et le château d’Ehrenfels au-dessus de Sils im Domleschg constituent les deux "châteaux de jeunesse" de la Suisse. Sur l’exemple de la France et de l’Allemagne, les années 1930 ont vu naître sous la direction de l’architecte Eugen Probst des programmes de volontariat destinés aux jeunes sans emploi. Plus que des mesures d’entretien des monuments et de l’aspect historique, ces travaux de restauration avaient pour objectif principal de mettre fin au délabrement de ces vestiges et de mettre à disposition de la jeunesse un château où elle puisse loger et travailler.

Le territoire du Jura tabulaire du nord fait partie des zones de Suisse les plus riches en châteaux forts, qui se comptent ici par douzaines, certains en bon état et d’autres en ruines. Le château Rotberg ne jouait pas un rôle particulièrement important et ne présentait pas non plus de valeur architecturale significative. Certaines suppositions selon lesquelles le château Rotberg aurait été la légendaire forteresse Robur de l’empereur Valentinien Ier pour se protéger contre les Germains semblent erronées. On suppose que la fondation de ce château fort remonte plutôt à l’époque des XIIe et XIIIe siècles, où furent édifiés la plupart des châteaux forts suisses.

L’ouvrage fut édifié sur un promontoire rocheux au pied du Blauen. L’espace y était si restreint que des murs d’appui spéciaux durent y être aménagés pour la construction du chemin et d’un petit enclos.

Premiers représentants de leur lignée, Johans et Wernher von Rothberg sont mentionnés pour la première fois dans la seconde moitié du XIIIe siècle. Les seigneurs de Rothberg avaient cherché assez tôt à se rapprocher de la ville de Bâle, toujours plus influente, et lui avaient fourni plusieurs bourgmestres. En 1451, un certain Arnold von Rothberg fut même consacré évêque de Bâle.

On ignore à ce jour si le château Rotberg avait déjà été détruit par le grand tremblement de terre de Bâle de 1356. Il se peut toutefois qu’il ait subi alors des dommages très importants qui ne furent jamais réparés et qu’il se soit ensuite dégradé progressivement.

Mais le domaine, situé au pied de la colline, continua d’être utilisé. En 1918, l’union coopérative générale des deux Bâle (Allgemeiner Consumverein beider Basel) reprit le domaine et devint ainsi propriétaire des ruines.

La reconstruction

En 1933, l’architecte zurichois et président de l’Association suisse Châteaux forts Eugen Probst proposa, sur l’exemple de la France et de l’Allemagne, de faire renaître le château Rotberg sous la forme d’un "château de la jeunesse". Il prévoyait pour cela de faire appel à des jeunes sans emploi à qui il offrirait ainsi une expérience professionnelle concrète. L’union coopérative de Bâle soutint ce projet et mit en place des récoltes de dons dans ses magasins.

C’est ainsi que près de 30 jeunes commencèrent les travaux en janvier 1934. Eugen Probst s’occupait de la planification et le Consumverein fournissait pour sa part la direction des travaux.

Le 27 Novembre 1935, les travaux étaient terminés et le château de la jeunesse pouvait ouvrir ses portes.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Burg Rotberg aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Burg Rotberg aujourd’hui

 

Salle des chevaliers

Salle des chevaliers

Ruine sur le domaine de l’union coopérative

Ruine sur le domaine de l’union coopérative