Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Schaffhausen Youth Hostel

"Belair"
Randenstrasse 65
8200 Schaffhausen (SH)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge

Book online

Portrait

According to the song by Dieter Wiesmann Schaffhausen is just a small town. But what a town! Between Munot, Rhine Falls, Randen and Klettgau lies a medieval little place with an irresistible attraction. And, ten minutes away, a youth hostel in a small castle. At one time the meeting point for writers and painters, today it is open to all connoisseurs of the art of living.

Hessestube and tower rooms

"A dilapidated old manor house, with unkept garden paths, moss-covered bench seats, crumbling steps and an impenetrably overgrown park". That was how in 1914 Hermann Hesse described the small castle Belair in his novel "Rosshalde". His friend and owner of the castle, Hans Sturzenegger, a painter, provided the main character Johann Veraguth.
Fifty years later, the 16th-century manor house became the youth hostel. And today, freely adapting Hesse's words, it looks like this: A magnificently decked-out, striking small castle, with large meadows, romantic bench seats under mighty plane trees, narrow and winding stairs to plush rooms and an extensive, well-tended park.

Getting here

By public transportFrom the station15 minutes on foot via Hintersteig and Schützenhaus. By bus No. 3 direction Sommerwies to the “Wiesli” stop or by bus No. 6 direction Neuhausen to the “Hallenbad” stop.

By carFrom the town centre by car in the direction of Breite. Free car parking 100 metres from the youth hostel.

Details

Open

  • 15 Mar - 26 Oct 2014

Check-in

5 - 9 pm

Check-out

8 - 10 am

Accommodation

  • 2 single rooms
  • 1 double room
  • 2 room with 3 beds and washbasin
  • 1 rooms with 4 beds
  • 2 rooms with 5 beds with/without washbasin
  • 3 rooms with 6 beds
  • 5 rooms with 8 beds
  • 1 room with 10 beds

A total of beds 92.
Showers and WCs on the floors.

Catering

  • Breakfast buffet (incl.)
  • Varied evening meal
  • Lunch and packed lunch on request

Infrastructure

  • Cosy training and day-room with piano
  • Barbecue and playground
  • Table tennis and table football
  • 16,000 m2 park with two grassed play areas, volleyball, football and badminton
  • Cycle training area alongside the youth hostel
  • Internetcorner
  • Free WiFi

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Jugendherberge Schaffhausen

"Belair"
Randenstrasse 65
8200 Schaffhausen (SH)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-4 Swiss_lodge

Online Buchung

Portrait

Nur eine kleine Stadt sei Schaffhausen, singt der Chansonnier Dieter Wiesmann. Aber was für eine. Zwischen Munot, Rheinfall, Randen und Klettgau liegt ein mittelalterlicher Flecken, in dem man hängen bleibt. Und zehn Minuten entfernt eine Jugendherberge in einem Schlösschen. Früher der Treffpunkt von Dichtern und Malern, heute offen für alle Lebenskünstler.

Hessestube und Turmzimmer

"Ein verwahrloster alter Herrensitz, mit zugewachsenen Gartenwegen, vermoosten Bänken, brüchigen Treppenstufen und undurchdringlich verwildertem Park." So beschrieb Hermann Hesse in seinem Roman "Rosshalde" 1914 das Schlösschen Belair. Sein Freund und Schlossherr Hans Sturzenegger, Kunstmaler, gab die Hauptfigur Johann Veraguth ab.
Fünfzig Jahre später wurde aus dem Herrensitz, erbaut im 16. Jahrhundert, die Jugendherberge. Und die sieht heute, frei nach Hesse, etwa so aus: Ein herausgeputztes, stattliches Schlösschen, mit grossen Wiesen, romantischen Bänken unter mächtigen Platanen, verwinkelten Treppen zu feudalen Zimmern und einem weitläufigen, gepflegten Park. Und wer im Rhein übernachten kann, hat Glück gehabt. Denn "Rhein" heisst eines der vier Turmzimmer, nebst der Suite "Thur", mit bemalter Decke, die Favoriten im Belair.

Anreise

Mit den öffentlichen VerkehrsmittelnVom Bahnhof zu Fuss in 15 Minuten via Hintersteig und Schützenhaus, oder mit dem Bus Nr. 3 Richtung Sommerwies, bis Haltestelle «Wiesli» oder Bus Nr. 6 Richtung Neuhausen, bis Haltestelle «Hallenbad».

Mit dem AutoVom Zentrum Richtung Breite. Gratisparkplätze 100 Meter neben der Jugendherberge.

Details

Offen

  • 15.03.-26.10.2014
  • 14.03.-25.10.2015

Check-in

17.00-21.00 Uhr

Check-out

08.00-10.00 Uhr

Unterkunft

  • 2 Einzelzimmer
  • 1 Doppelzimmer
  • 2 Dreierzimmer mit Lavabo
  • 1 Viererzimmer
  • 2 Fünferzimmer mit/ohne Lavabo
  • 3 Sechserzimmer
  • 5 Achterzimmer
  • 1 Zehnerzimmer

Insgesamt 92 Betten
Duschen und WCs auf den Etagen.

Gut zu wissen

Buchung aller Schweizer Jugendherbergen vor Ort möglich.

Verpflegung

  • Frühstücksbuffet (inklusive)
  • Abwechslungsreiches Abendessen
  • Mittagessen und Lunchpakete auf Anfrage

Infrastruktur

  • Gemütlicher Schul- und Aufenthaltsraum mit Klavier
  • Grill- und Spielplatz
  • Tischtennis und Tischfussball
  • 16’000 m2 Park mit zwei Spielwiesen, Volley-, Fuss- und Federball
  • Verkehrsgarten neben der Jugendherberge
  • Internetcorner
  • WiFi (kostenlos)